This Week on the Culture of Protest

**Events may have been canceled or postponed. Please contact the venue to confirm the event.

Date & Time

Thu, Apr 01 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Fri, Apr 02 All day

Sat, Apr 03 All day

Sun, Apr 04 All day

Mon, Apr 05 All day

Tue, Apr 06 All day

Wed, Apr 07 All day

Thu, Apr 08 All day

Fri, Apr 09 All day

Sat, Apr 10 All day

Sun, Apr 11 All day

Mon, Apr 12 All day

Tue, Apr 13 All day

Wed, Apr 14 All day

Thu, Apr 15 All day

Address (map)

Virtual

Venue (website)

Virtual

From the Culture of Protest archive: MLK’s historic sermon

On April 4, 1967 Dr. King delivered a sermon at Riverside Church in NY in which he publicly and forcefully enunciated his opposition to the US war in Vietnam for the first time. He did this despite great pressure to remain silent; the speech was remarkably eloquent, detailed and radical .
Every year  on its anniversary on Culture of Protest we replay the entire sermon; this Sunday the speech will be read online by a remarkable array of celebrities (see https://kingandbreakingsilence.org/)–we’ll provide the original speech on the radio this week.

Login

Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.