WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

Music Academy Announces 2017 Season

A community concert with the N.Y. Philharmonic is planned for La Playa Stadium. Read story.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Let Leonard Peltier Go Free

Interview with a Native American seeking clemency after 41 years behind bars. Read story.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Santa Barbara’s Year in Pictures 2016

Our annual photographic trip down recent memory lane. Read story.

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Northern Lights Revealed

A Santa Barbara photographer hunts for the aurora borealis. Read story.

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Transgender Life in Santa Barbara

Transgender prom queen and religious leaders are changing Santa Barbara’s attitudes to gender identity. Read story.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

’Tis the Season 2016

Check out S.B.’s most complete guide to all the happenings this holiday season. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

The Kidnap Scam

How a kidnapping scam caught a Montecito family in a web of terror and confusion. Read story.

Thursday, December 1, 2016

The Santa Barbara Independent’s Local Heroes of 2016

The Santa Barbara Independent’s Local Heroes of 2016 honor 20 men and women who have made a difference in our communities. Read story.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Abby Brown’s Homegrown Paddling Power

The 19-year-old prone paddler from Santa Barbara is competing in the world championships this week Read story.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Clinton, Carbajal, Hartmann, and Dems Sweep County

But Trump victory overwhelms all. Read story.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Día de los Muertos

The S.B. Bowl presents two days of Mexican music and culture in celebration of the Day of the Dead. Read story.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

The Photographer of Protest

Photographer Nell Campbell Captures a Half Century of Political Protest Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Best of Santa Barbara® Readers’ Poll 2016

Dug and Dot Daug sniff out Santa Barbarans’ favorite places. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Inside This Week's Music Issue

Read about our new web concert series Side Notes, plus tour stories, modular synths, and Sting's Brain. Read story.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

2016 Election Endorsements, Part One

From president to props, here are our picks for the 2016 election. Read story.

Thursday, October 6, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: