WEATHER »

In Print - Cover Story

Local Heroes 2014

The Santa Barbara Independent's annual celebration of good people. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Surviving Santa Barbara

Told by the survivors themselves, the many trials and triumphs of calling Santa Barbara home. Read story.

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Independent Education Supplement

From when the bells ring to where the field trips go and how parents receive report cards, schools are changing to adapt to a new era in education. Read story.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Deep End of the Pool

S.B. high schools and UCSB are all about water polo, a sport that is rapidly on the rise in popularity. Read story.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

The Santa Barbara Bowl Revives Día de los Muertos

Café Tacvba, Ozomatli, and Las Cafeteras are just some of the performances going into this week's blowout Day of the Dead event. Read story.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Inside Santa Barbara’s Bellosguardo Estate

Our exclusive look at the late heiress Huguette Clark’s long-hidden blufftop estate over East Beach. Read story.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Best of Santa Barbara® 2014

The Santa Barbara Independent’s readers reveal their S.B. favorites. Read story.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

The Music Issue

Get to know 14 of Santa Barbara's brightest new musical acts. Read story.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Sex and Rape in Isla Vista

What to expect when you hit the streets of the college town. Read story.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

The Fifth Annual Foodie Awards

The Santa Barbara Independent’s celebration of culinary culture. Read story.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

The High Price of Renting in Paradise

Santa Barbara tenants are facing extreme competition and record rates. Read story.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Knitting Psychedelic Day Dreams

Ethan Stewart goes behind the scenes with Santa Barbara’s Yarn Bomber. Read story.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Developer to Save Funk Zone

Developer Neil Dipaola plans to put sailboats on a hotel roof and artists in storage containers, and almost everybody is ecstatic. How come? Read story.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Santa Barbara’s First Comedy Festival

Big-name comics converge on downtown stages for seven nights of shows. Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

From Jail to Late-Night Salvation?

Believer’s Edge shines welcoming light on Santa Barbara County Jail’s departing inmates. Read story.

Thursday, August 21, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: