WEATHER »

Science & Tech

Brown Pelican Results Are In

Crowdsourced population count in May a part of ongoing studies. Read story.

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Weakened Corals Can Succumb to Parrotfish

Florida Keys experiment simulated nutrient pollution and climate factors. Read story.

Monday, June 13, 2016

An Acidic Ocean a Foregone Conclusion for Decades

West Coast expected to face severe changes to ecosystems. Read story.

Saturday, June 4, 2016

Computer Expert Raises New Concerns for Bitcoin Users

Electronic currency system may not be as safe as it appears. Read story.

Monday, May 23, 2016

Environmental Justice and Human Rights

UCSB Professor David Pellow's research links sustainability and social justice. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., April 23, 2016
Updated 11:42 a.m., April 25, 2016

Finding New Life on Dead Oil Rigs

Producing and decommissioned platforms support a multitude of aquatic life. Read story.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Walking the Environmental Walk

Social psychologists ask if it's possible to be green and still have fun. Read story.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Examining Mutual Benefits in Trophic Latitudes

Scientists learn excess nitrogen or phosphorus can harm ecosystem food exchanges, including carbon. Read story.

Monday, March 28, 2016

Counting Croaks with FrogWatch U.S.A.

‘Citizen scientists’ will be offered the chance to conduct conservation research; the training session is on March 23. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

What Does a Scientist Do?

Girls Inc. shows its participants what a science or math career is about with the help of business mentors. Read story.

Monday, March 14, 2016

Pi Day Celebrated Monday at Downtown Library

What does 3.14159 mean to you? Read story.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

UCSB Researchers Studying El Niño Sea Level Rise

Their data will be used for future coastal planning. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

The Carbon Market and Global Climate Issues

UCSB's Kyle Meng discusses environmental economics and El Niño's global consequences. Read story.

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Wave Energy Exploration Continues

Dehlsen Associates gains over half-million-dollar grant for toughness testing of its Centipod. Read story.

Sunday, January 10, 2016

Warming Icy Methane Adds to Greenhouse Effect

Core studies in Santa Barbara Channel link methane and ancient glacial and warming events. Read story.

Monday, January 4, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: