WEATHER »

Science & Tech

Einstein's Lens Bends Time

Multiplying effect of gravitational lenses allow images to travel at different speeds. Read story.

Monday, March 9, 2015

Protein for the Planet

Researchers meet to examine fisheries, aquaculture, and the increasing global need for food. Read story.

Friday, March 6, 2015

Treasure-tiques App Makes Thrift Shopping Smart

The Santa Ynez Valley’s Gail Gower creates digital tool for antique hunting and more. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Sea Slugs as El Niño Forecasters?

Bright pink nudibranchs found far north of their usual hunting grounds. Read story.

Monday, February 2, 2015

Recalculating Flood Damage Potential

New study finds that changes in river channels, as well as high water, can determine flood potential. Read story.

Friday, January 23, 2015

Finding Energy from the Sun

UCSB researchers experiment with how to create cheaper, more lightweight solar cells. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Rating the Planet’s Oceans

Ocean Health Index gives Northwest Pacific lowest overall score of 53 out of 100. Read story.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Hunting the Early Humans

Museum of Natural History hosts second Symposium on Human Origins. Read story.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Smarter Than a First-Grader?

New Caledonian crows found to perform water-displacement tasks as well as 7- to 10-year-olds. Read story.

Friday, September 5, 2014

Counting Kelp

The location of giant kelp forests on hundreds of thousands of Landsat photographs need to be evaluated — by hand. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

This Is Your Brain on Drugs

Research on who could be more vulnerable to addiction gets $1 million award from Keck Foundation. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

A Close Brush with Disaster

UCSB geology students and faculty doing fieldwork at Iceland's Askja volcano got the surprise of a lifetime. Read story.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Self-Repair in Wet Conditions

Biomedical and environmental breakthrough found for repairing underwater breaks. Read story.

Friday, August 8, 2014

Post-Fire Studies at Coal Oil Point

“Fire is a renewal. It cleans up the dead brush and thatch, and I’m very excited for our grassland,” says Coal Oil Point Reserve's Cristina Sandoval. Read story.

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

The Mini Baja Learning Curve

A popular intercollegiate design competition runs trials in Peoria for fast, maneuverable, and hardy single-seat off-road cars. Read story.

Friday, July 25, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: