Courtesy Photo

Liam Gallagher’s first solo album reeks of Oasis nostalgia, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. With him always having been the distinctive voice and soul of that band (while brother Noel was the chief lyricist and heart), it makes sense that Liam would employ a legion of musicians and co-lyricists for his big debut — including Michael Tighe (formerly of Jeff Buckley’s band and cowriter of “So Real” from Buckley’s classic Grace album), and Andrew Wyatt (from Miike Snow). “For What It’s Worth,” Liam’s mea culpa moment, is the best tune, but “Wall of Glass,” the Peter Gunn-ish “Greedy Soul,” and “Paper Crown” all deliver. Meanwhile, “Chinatown” has a Jimmy Cliff vibe. While not groundbreaking, this is the best post-Oasis release yet from a Gallagher brother. Liam brings his A game.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.