Login

Not a member? Sign up here.

Solvang Julefest

Date & Time

Sat, Nov 30 10:00 AM

Sun, Dec 01 10:00 AM

Mon, Dec 02 10:00 AM

Tue, Dec 03 10:00 AM

Wed, Dec 04 10:00 AM

Thu, Dec 05 10:00 AM

Fri, Dec 06 10:00 AM

Sat, Dec 07 10:00 AM

Sun, Dec 08 10:00 AM

Mon, Dec 09 10:00 AM

Tue, Dec 10 10:00 AM

Wed, Dec 11 10:00 AM

Thu, Dec 12 10:00 AM

Fri, Dec 13 10:00 AM

Sat, Dec 14 10:00 AM

Sun, Dec 15 10:00 AM

Mon, Dec 16 10:00 AM

Tue, Dec 17 10:00 AM

Wed, Dec 18 10:00 AM

Thu, Dec 19 10:00 AM

Fri, Dec 20 10:00 AM

Sat, Dec 21 10:00 AM

Sun, Dec 22 10:00 AM

Mon, Dec 23 10:00 AM

Tue, Dec 24 10:00 AM

Wed, Dec 25 10:00 AM

Thu, Dec 26 10:00 AM

Fri, Dec 27 10:00 AM

Sat, Dec 28 10:00 AM

Sun, Dec 29 10:00 AM

Mon, Dec 30 10:00 AM

Tue, Dec 31 10:00 AM

Tue, Jan 01 10:00 AM

Wed, Jan 02 10:00 AM

Thu, Jan 03 10:00 AM

Address (map)

Downtown Solvang, Solvang

Venue (website)

Solvang

Solvang Julefest

Julefest is a month full of lights, celebration, and holiday cheer. Join us in Solvang for tons of family fun, music, shopping, delicious food, wine & beer, and more.

November 30, 2019-January 3, 2020

Free visits and Santa photos opportunitites for the whole family, in Solvang Park (corner of Mission Drive and First Street). First come, first seated with the famous Mr. Claus all Saturdays: November 30, 12:00 PM-7:00 PM; December 7, 12:00 PM-7:00 PM; December 14, 12:00 PM-7:00 PM; December 21, 12:00 PM-7:00 PM.

New to this year’s Santa’s Village, a photographic scene for capturing “holiday moments” in the Solvang Park Gazebo, plus Santa’s Lade (Santa’s Barn), a paid-admission play area to include snow and live animals (admission is $5.00 per person).

Nisse Adventure – Kids of all ages are invited to explore Solvang while trying to locate 12 Danish Christmas Elves known as Jule Nisse (pronounced ‘Yule Nee-suh’), each about 16 inches tall, during this dynamic, festive scavenger hunt.

Stop by the Solvang Visitor Center at 1639 Copenhagen Drive between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM daily, to pick up a free “Nisse Adventure” map which provides clues to the elves’ whereabouts. Take a picture of all 12 Jule Nisse on a smart phone or camera, then return to the Visitor Center to show the attendants your results and to receive a prize. Nisse Adventure may be completed at guests’ leisure, but must be completed by January 3, 2020.

5:00 PM: Solvang Candlelight Walking Tours – Free, 60-minute guided tours depart from the Solvang Park Gazebo, Mission Drive at First Street. A costumed tour guide will provide guests with a complimentary, souvenir, battery-powered LED candle, and will then share Solvang’s history and fun facts while strolling and caroling along village sidewalks.

December Date TBA: VIP Solvang Candlelight Walking Tour – 90-minute guided tour departs from the Solvang Park Gazebo, Mission Drive at First Street. Stroll and carol around downtown Solvang with a battery-powered LED candle, and a costumed tour guide who will share insider heritage and history. The tour concludes with a private meet-and-greet with Santa Claus, hot cocoa and cookies at Hotel Corque. Tickets are $25 per person (children under the age of ‘2’ are free), with a limited 25 guests.

— Friday, December 6, 2019 —

5:00 PM-6:30 PM: Solvang’s Annual Tree Lighting in Solvang Park (Mission Drive and First Street). The Tree Lighting spectators enjoy free festivities including live entertainment by local bands, choirs and caroling culminating in a ballet routine by ballerinas from Fossemalle Dance Studio, and the arrival of Mr. and Mrs. Claus.

— Saturday, December 7, 2019 –

11:00 AM: Julefest Parade with 400+ participants and 50+ entries including dancers, musical groups, vintage vehicles, horses, carriages and other live animals, with Mr. and Mrs. Claus bringing up the rear of the holiday procession. The parade originates at Solvang Veterans Hall (1745 Mission Drive), travels west on Mission Drive, turns left onto Fourth Place, turns east on Copenhagen Drive, and ends on Alisal Road near the Solvang village Post Office (near 430 Alisal Road). The 2019 Solvang Julefest Parade Grand Marshal will be announced in the coming weeks.

— Friday, December 13, 2019 —

NEW! 6:30 PM: Saint Lucia Day – New to Solvang Julefest for 2019, the celebration of Saint Lucia Day will include a lighted, evening children’s Parade through town, led by the symbolic “Saint Lucia”, a young woman chosen to portray the special saint. Illuminated floats and Parade entries will follow.

— Saturday, December 14 and Sunday, December 15, 2019 —

11:00 AM-4:00 PM: Skål Wine & Stein Stroll – A signature, passport event, the Skål Wine and Stein Stroll features tastings at more than a dozen wine and beer tasting rooms throughout the village. As part of the Stroll, guests will also judge tasting venues as they uncork their respective takes on a traditional Gløgg (mulled red wine) for the holidays. Tickets are $45.00 per person for the two-day passport (21+ only, with valid photo I.D.), or $25.00 per person for a one-day tasting pass. Tickets include a souvenir wine glass / stein.

NEW! Christmas Drone Show – A nighttime lights spectacular, the new Solvang Julefest Christmas Drone Show can be viewed from five miles in all directions from the fields of Old Mission Santa Inés (1760 Mission Drive, Solvang). Limited VIP grandstand viewing will be available for purchase.

— Tuesday, December 31, 2019 —

NEW! 10:00 AM-3:30 PM: Countdown to Danish New Year in Solvang Park – A family-friendly, daytime New Year’s Eve celebration. Join the party as the crowds count down to the Danish New Year (3:00 PM Pacific), while enjoying a simulcast of the New Year’s Eve events taking place in Copenhagen’s Tivoli Gardens.

— Friday, January 3, 2020 –

5:00 PM-7:00 PM: Annual Christmas Tree Burn and Fire Safety Demonstration – Light up the New Year in true Solvang style, at this grand Julefest conclusion. Held in the fields of Old Mission Santa Inés (1760 Mission Drive, Solvang), supervised by the Santa Barbara County Fire Department, the Tree Burn is one of the largest fire safety demos and community gatherings on California’s Central Coast. The Tree Burn will include free, live entertainment and refreshments for purchase. For more information call 805.688.7529.

* All events listed here, are subject to change or cancellation.

Login

Not a member? Sign up here.