WEATHER »

Lectures

‘Nat Geo’ Photographer Talks Climbing and PTSD

Cory Richards reveals his personal demons and explains how climbing has taught him to give up control. Read story.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Fighting Addiction, Pushing Prison Reform

Ryan Leone tries turning around life of crime and drug problems with Lobero fundraiser. Read story.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

An Interview with Samantha Bee

Comedian talks about how she finds humor in society’s ludicrous aspects. Read story.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

UCSB Arts & Lectures Announces 2017-18 Season

Bill Murray, Joe Biden, Samantha Bee, and a dance to the Beatles coming soon. Read story.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Naomi Klein Discusses Our Environmental Future

Author delivers May 17 Granada Theatre speech on climate crisis. Read story.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Lynsey Addario Comes to UCSB

The award-winning photojournalist will give a talk as part of Arts & Lectures’ ‘Nat Geo’ series. Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Chip Kidd Talks Iconic Book Covers

The designer of more than 1,500 book jackets speaks at UCSB. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Elizabeth Gilbert on Her Path to Creativity

The renowned author will speak with Pico Iyer at the Granada Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Terry Tempest Williams Talks National Parks at Campbell Hall

The “citizen writer” will discuss America’s public wilderness with “The Hour of Land.” Read story.

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

‘Brain Candy Live!’ Serves Food for Thought

Adam Savage and Michael Stevens spark minds at the Arlington Theatre. Read story.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Anand Varma and Rodrigo Medellín Discuss Microscopic Worlds

The ‘Nat Geo’ photographer and bat researcher share their studies at UCSB. Read story.

Monday, February 27, 2017

Héctor Tobar Talks Chilean Mine Disaster

An interview with the author, whose book ‘Deep Down Dark’ tells the story of the 33 men who survived 69 days trapped underground. Read story.

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Nobel Laureate Discusses Cellular Research

UC-Berkeley Professor Randy Schekman discusses prize-winning work at New Vic Theater on August 19. Read story.

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Malala Yousafzai: Education Ambassador

She survived Taliban assassination attempt and now speaks for students. Read story.

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Gerald Horne Scrutinizes 1776 During UCSB Visit

Historian and attorney discussed the pro-slavery "counter-revolution" that underlay the American Revolution. Read story.

Monday, May 19, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: