WEATHER »

Gardening

Gardening: Fire Safety

Fire-prevention specialists have developed a specific set of guidelines for managing landscapes to keep your home as fire safe as it can be. Read story.

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Gardening: Sunscreen for Plants

Many established garden plants are simply not acclimated to increased solar radiation in addition to the stress of less moisture. Read story.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Gardening: Watering Tips

With care, landscapes can be maintained without the waste that sends excess water down the drain to the ocean. Read story.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Gardening: Poppies

Springtime in California is heralded by a glorious burst of color from the state flower, the California poppy. Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Gardening: Butterflies, Birds, and Frogs

Some unseen, but important, residents in gardens may not be able to weather long dry periods without some extra consideration. Read story.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Gardening: Climbing Vines

For all vines, know how high the vine is likely to climb and either be prepared to prune it to keep it in check or provide a support tall enough from the start. Read story.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Gardening: In Bloom

Clivias are show-stoppers when they are in bloom. Read story.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Gardening: Friendly Fungi

Many mushrooms benefit plants by forming bonds with trees and shrubs, helping them absorb hundreds of times more water than they would normally. Read story.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Gardening: The Perfect Cut

When it comes to cutting and clipping, the right tool is essential, and the most important feature is a sharp blade. Read story.

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Gardening: Drought

California is not only affected by climate change due to greenhouse-gas buildup, but it is also entering a historic dry cycle. Read story.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Gardening: February Tips

With the weird/warm/cold warm winter weather we’ve been having, it won’t hurt to prune deciduous trees that haven’t been done yet. Read story.

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Gardening: Which Flowers Say ‘Be Mine’?

For the shy or the confident, Valentine’s Day may be an opportunity to show your true feelings without words. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Aloe Time

Native to the dry habitats in Africa, aloes come in a staggering variety of shapes and sizes. Read story.

Monday, January 20, 2014

Gardening: The Fiery Poinsettia

The Ecke family started growing poinsettias on their ranch in the early 1900s, and by 1920 they were seriously promoting them as the official holiday flower. Read story.

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Gardening: Winter Stars

Cabbages and kales, ornamental or edible, thrive in the coming cool weather. Read story.

Monday, December 9, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: