San Marcos Parents Rally Behind Embattled Principal

Ed Behren’s supporters say he’s the scapegoat for district mistakes in response to cyber threats. Read story.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Santa Barbara Unified School District's Safety Plans Are Under Fire

Members of the board of education want greater attention paid to active-shooter situations. Read story.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Property-Tax Funding Plummets for Montecito Schools

The 1/9 Debris Flow impact on school funding could mean teacher layoffs. Read story.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

UCSB Sees Record Number of Freshman Applicants

The number of prospective students is up 12 percent over last year. Read story.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

San Marcos Parents Spar With School District in Wake of Violent Video

At least 16 female students were targeted by “how to kill” post in private chat room. Read story.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Female Students Threatened at San Marcos High School

Parents and students are demanding more information from the district. Read story.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Santa Barbara School District Hiring Safety Coordinator

Application window will open this spring Read story.

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Schools Clean Up and Reopen After the Thomas Fire

Campus cleanups are estimated at $260,000. Read story.

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Closing Schools and Moving Finals Due to Thomas Fire

A look at our education system’s response to the wildfire Read story.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Superintendent Matsuoka Presents Annual School Status Update

Matsuoka talks big picture, and nuts and bolts in his yearly address. Read story.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Students Gear Up for First Day of School

Charity event donates backpacks and supplies to students in need. Read story.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

UCSB Soccer Team Faces Mexican U-17 Side

Friday night at San Marcos. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Gaucho Women Hustling Hoops

The UCSB basketball squad shows promise; plus, here’s an update on Westmont, SBCC, Bolden Brace, and Amber Melgoza. Read story.

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

UCSB Prof Pens New Book on the Privatization of Public Universities

Christopher Newfield offers fairly simple solutions to fixing America’s higher education system. Read story.

Monday, December 12, 2016

‘Del Playa’ Horror Film Release Set for 2017

Director defends movie as art that pushes boundaries and poses hard questions. Read story.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: