WEATHER »

independent.com/education

UC Salary Report Released

Chancellor makes $401,020, men’s basketball coach earns $327,080. Read story.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Funding Secured for UCSB Wetlands Restoration

North Campus Open Space project treks the long road to Coastal Commission. Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2016

UCSB to Start Using Students’ Preferred Names

The new system is a step toward transgender inclusivity. Read story.

Friday, June 10, 2016

Suspect Arrested in Alleged UCSB Library Peeping Incident

A man, whose name has not been released, was booked into County Jail on May 27. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2016

UCSB Launches Hayden Werner Memorial Fund

Scholarship honors student Werner, 19, who died May 20. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2016

City Proposes Expansion of Mesa Parking Permit Program

Some neighbors complain SBCC students are eating up off-campus spaces. Read story.

Saturday, June 4, 2016

Anti-Feminism Talk Draws Crowds, Critics

Breitbart journalist invited by UCSB’s Young Americans for Liberty chapter. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Alagie Jammeh Is Finally Home

UCSB student granted asylum after his Gambian scholarship was revoked for supporting homosexuality. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Hunting for Driftnets with UCSB Film Grads

Sponsored by Sea Shepherd, team of five tracks poachers on the high seas. Read story.

Friday, May 6, 2016

SBCC’s Running Start Gives Glimpses of a Higher Self

The empowerment program aims at high school grads who weren’t considering college. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

City College Pledges Two Free Years for S.B. Grads

The SBCC Promise looks to repair rifts in community relations. Read story.

Thursday, May 5, 2016

SBCC Picks New President

Dr. Anthony Beebe comes from San Diego City College. Read story.

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

UCSB Grad Slam Winner Takes Home $5,000

Nicole Leung’s “Lighting the Path from the Eye to the Brain” gets top spot at speech contest. Read story.

Sunday, April 24, 2016

Nobel Laureate Walter Kohn Dies at Age 93

UCSB professor pursued physics and world peace. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Black Graduation Rates Increase at UCSB

Education Trust gives 52 colleges high marks for improvement. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: