WEATHER »

independent.com/education

‘Del Playa’ Horror Film Release Set for 2017

Director defends movie as art that pushes boundaries and poses hard questions. Read story.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

School Listings 2016

School Listings 2016 Read story.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

City College $9 Million in Debt

The new Campus Center project is now on hold. Read story.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Community Survey Takes City College's Temperature

New president gauging school's strengths and weaknesses, real and perceived. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

School District Going Digital

Superintendent Matsuoka unveils plan to transition away from traditional textbooks. Read story.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Mystery Shrouds Carpinteria Unified Conflict

The superintendent abruptly left her post the day before school started. Read story.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

UC Salary Report Released

Chancellor makes $401,020, men’s basketball coach earns $327,080. Read story.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Funding Secured for UCSB Wetlands Restoration

North Campus Open Space project treks the long road to Coastal Commission. Read story.

Monday, July 18, 2016

UCSB to Start Using Students’ Preferred Names

The new system is a step toward transgender inclusivity. Read story.

Friday, June 10, 2016

Suspect Arrested in Alleged UCSB Library Peeping Incident

A man, whose name has not been released, was booked into County Jail on May 27. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2016

UCSB Launches Hayden Werner Memorial Fund

Scholarship honors student Werner, 19, who died May 20. Read story.

Monday, June 6, 2016

City Proposes Expansion of Mesa Parking Permit Program

Some neighbors complain SBCC students are eating up off-campus spaces. Read story.

Saturday, June 4, 2016

Anti-Feminism Talk Draws Crowds, Critics

Breitbart journalist invited by UCSB’s Young Americans for Liberty chapter. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Alagie Jammeh Is Finally Home

UCSB student granted asylum after his Gambian scholarship was revoked for supporting homosexuality. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Hunting for Driftnets with UCSB Film Grads

Sponsored by Sea Shepherd, team of five tracks poachers on the high seas. Read story.

Friday, May 6, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: