WEATHER »
<em>A Midsummer Night's Dream</em>

A Midsummer Night's Dream


Fall 2008 Theater Preview


She Loves Me

A musical comedy where two competitive coworkers fall in love through a lonely hearts column. Directed by Kirby Ward. Through Sun., Sept. 28. Rubicon Theatre, 1006 E. Main St., Ventura. Call 667-2900 or visit rubicontheater.org.

Hot Mikado

In this 1940s adaptation of Gilbert and Sullivan, cultures are interchanged through a melange of singing and dancing. Fri., Sept. 12-Sun., Sept. 28, 8pm. Solvang Festival Theater, 420 Second St., Solvang. Call 922-8313 or visit pcpa.org.

I Remember You

This mother-and-daughter piece will be produced by and star Circle Bar B Artistic Director Susie Couch. Sat., Sept. 20-Sun., Nov. 2. Circle Bar B Ranch, 1800 Refugio Rd., Goleta. Call 967-1962 or visit circlebarbtheatre.com.

Take Me Out

In this now-classic ode to love and baseball, Richard Greenberg exposes the “dynamics of homophobia, racial tension, and the cult of celebrity.” Thu., Sept. 25-Sun., Oct. 19, 8pm. Alhecama Theatre, 914 Santa Barbara St. Call 965-5400 or visit ensembletheatre.com.

Simply Ballroom

This production features celebrity host Debbie Reynolds, singers from the hit show American Idol, and word-class competitive ballroom dancers. Tue., Sept. 30-Thu., Oct. 2, 8pm. Granada Theatre, 1214 State St. Call 899-2222 or visit theaterleague.com.

Nunsense

A musical comedy starring Sally Struthers in which the Little Sisters of Hoboken put on a zany show. Sun., Oct. 5. Lobero Theatre, 33 E. Canon Perdido St. Call 963-0761 or visit lobero.com.

Othello

Bulgarian director Lilia Abadjieva comes back this year with Othello. Thu., Oct. 16, 7pm; Sun., Oct. 19, 2pm; Thu., Oct. 23, 9pm; Sat., Oct. 25, 7pm. Center Stage Theater, 751 Paseo Nuevo. Call 963-0408 or visit centerstagetheater.org or litmoon.com.

The Winter’s Tale

Actors from UCSB’s Department of Theater and Dance take on this beautiful story of love and magic. Directed by Irwin Appel. Fri., Oct. 17, 7pm; Sat., Oct. 18, 9pm; Mon., Oct. 20, 7pm; Sat., Oct. 25, 2pm. Center Stage Theater, 751 Paseo Nuevo. Call 963-0408 or visit centerstagetheater.org or litmoon.com.

Julius Caesar

Directed by John Blondell, this play will be performed by an all-woman cast. Sat., Oct. 18, 7pm; Sun., Oct. 19, 4pm; Thu., Oct. 23, 7pm; Sat., Oct. 25, 9pm. Center Stage Theater, 751 Paseo Nuevo. Call 963-0408 or visit centerstagetheater.org or litmoon.com.

Full Moon Jam & Cabaret

This concert will explore traditional songs from Georgia, Russia, and Eastern Europe. Sun., Oct. 19, 7pm. Center Stage Theater, 751 Paseo Nuevo. Call 963-0408 or visit centerstagetheater.org or litmoon.com.

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Unless their country is too much at war for them to leave, Georgia’s Marjanishvili State Theatre, directed by Levan Tsuladze, will grace the Lobero stage with a contemporary version of Shakespeare’s fantasy. Co-presented by UCSB Arts & Lectures. Tue., Oct. 21-Wed., Oct. 22, 7pm. Lobero Theatre, 33 E. Canon Perdido St. Call 963-0761 or visit lobero.com or litmoon.com.

Blue Tempest

Shakespeare’s The Tempest gets a new twist this year, in a production inspired by “banjo playing, silent movies, domestic squabbles, and the color blue.” Fri., Oct. 24, 7pm and Sun., Oct. 26, 4pm. Westmont College’s Porter Theatre, 955 La Paz Rd. Visit litmoon.com.

Poor, Poor Lear

Finnish actress Nina Sallinen will stun audiences by crossing her own life with that of the fictional character of King Lear. Fri., Oct. 24, 9pm and Sun., Oct. 26, 2pm. Westmont College’s Porter Theatre, 955 La Paz Rd. Visit litmoon.com.

Bug

A comedic thriller, Tracy Lett’s Bug centers on the meeting between an on-the-run waitress and a Gulf War drifter. Fri.-Sat., Oct. 31-Nov. 1; Thu.-Sat., Nov. 6-Nov. 8; Fri.-Sat., Nov. 14-Nov. 15, 8pm. Center Stage Theater, 751 Paseo Nuevo. Call 963-0408 or visit centerstagetheater.org.

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

In this Tony Award-winning musical, teens learn the good and bad of winning and losing. Mon., Nov. 24-Wed., Nov. 26, 8pm. Granada Theatre, 1214 State St. Call 899-2222 or visit theaterleague.com.

Striking 12

The musical Striking 12 is a holiday comfort as our favorite “Little Match Girl” comes to life in a fusion of rock, pop, and jazz. Thu., Dec. 4-Sun., Dec. 28, 8pm. Alhecama Theatre, 914 Santa Barbara St. Call 965-5400 or visit ensembletheatre.com.

Peter Pan

Santa Barbara Theatre presents Leonard Bernstein’s musical version of Peter Pan. Wed., Dec. 17-Sun., Dec. 28, 7pm; Wed., Sat., and Sun. matinees, 2pm. Lobero Theatre, 33 E. Canon Perdido St. Call 963-0761 or visit lobero.com.



Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by: