Blink-182 Returns with Mixed Results

‘California’ Covers Narrow Terrain

Much has happened to pop punk since its late-1990s/early-aughts heyday: Green Day went Broadway, The Offspring probably went and had some… Blink-182 and Sum 41 imploded amid personal issues. In Blink’s case, the trio lost coconspirator Tom DeLonge, who just wasn’t feeling it. So Mark Hoppus and Travis Barker now rage with newcomer Matt Skiba to mixed results. Despite its expansive title, California covers narrow terrain. Like past Blink efforts, the record balances serious sentiments with immature interludes (i.e., jokey, fleeting “Built This Pool”). “Bored to Death” launches with sonic chemtrails and fierce Barker percussion before reaching its Blink-typical, cascading chorus (“Life is too short to last long”). Infectious “Rabbit Hole” and crunchy “San Diego” kill, while “No Future,” not as Sex Pistols as its title suggests, arrives leavened by “na-na-nas” and skeletal breakdowns that Sum 41’s harmonics could’ve executed better.

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

Goleta Target Store Confirmed

Set to open at Kmart location in 2019.

County Fire Chief Calls for More Fuel Breaks

Peterson wants to create a continuous front-country line from Montecito to Goleta.

Crime Rates Down, Youth Arrests Up in Santa Barbara County

A 'high percentage' of misdemeanor citations happen on school campuses.

Will Hollister Ranch Access Deal Hold Up Under Public Scrutiny?

State commissioners are taking a closer look at settlement over beach access to Santa Barbara County gated ...

Faced with a Gun, Sheriff’s Sergeant Holds His Fire

Sgt. Freddy Padilla reflects on potentially life-saving decisions during welfare call.