WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

Grow Older, Grow Wiser

Santa Barbara author Viola Mecke discusses her new book Aging Wisely. Read story.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

An Interview with Gabriella Klein

A Santa Barbara poet debuts her first book, Land Sparing. Read story.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

The Cartel Reviewed

Private investigator turned author Don Winslow writes another gripping tale about Mexican drug lords. Read story.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Fighting Cancer with Confidence

Author Andrea Hutton’s advice from “Bald Is Better with Earrings: A Survivors Guide to Getting Through Breast Cancer.” Read story.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Aija Mayrock Beats the Bullies

Young, Santa Barbara-raised author pens The Survival Guide to Bullying. Read story.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

The Man Who Gave Away His Organs

Richard Levine’s debut book is a collection of stories that are imaginative and provocative throughout, and the writing fluid and evocative. Read story.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Review: Is There a Dry Drunk In Your Life?

Author/therapist Carole Bennett pens a sequel to her Reclaim Your Life. Read story.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Memoir Remembers “Cowboy Dad”

Melissa Broughton’s new book reflects on life with an alcoholic father and learning to heal. Read story.

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Cole Cohen’s Memoir Head Case

A UCSB employee pens a witty, unsympathetic book about the hole in her brain. Read story.

Thursday, June 4, 2015

Impact X Inspires Goodwill Work

Paksy Plackis-Cheng publishes book, hosts inspirational panel of thinkers and doers at the New Vic. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Reading Moon Mother, Moon Daughter on Mother’s Day

Interview with Janet Lucy, author of 13-year-old book who’s speaking on Saturday at Paradise Found. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Books: The Age of Acquiescence

With scholarly skill and a common touch, Steve Fraser shows that in creating our second Gilded Age, we have liquidated the assets that built the first Gilded Age. Read story.

Thursday, April 30, 2015

The Wild Wine Harvest of ’95

Old vines, Saucelito Canyon, and Santa Barbara’s Mountain Drive converge in Sean Christopher Weir’s memoir The Mad Crush. Read story.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Michael Pollan in Conversation

The author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma will engage in conversation with Sansum Clinic’s Dr. Kurt Ransohoff and Dr. Fred Kass. Read story.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Daniel Levitin Talks Too Much Information

Neuroscientist Daniel Levitin explores the effects of sensory overload on the brain in his latest book. Read story.

Thursday, April 16, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: