WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

Impact X Inspires Goodwill Work

Paksy Plackis-Cheng publishes book, hosts inspirational panel of thinkers and doers at the New Vic. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Reading Moon Mother, Moon Daughter on Mother’s Day

Interview with Janet Lucy, author of 13-year-old book who’s speaking on Saturday at Paradise Found. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Books: The Age of Acquiescence

With scholarly skill and a common touch, Steve Fraser shows that in creating our second Gilded Age, we have liquidated the assets that built the first Gilded Age. Read story.

Thursday, April 30, 2015

The Wild Wine Harvest of ’95

Old vines, Saucelito Canyon, and Santa Barbara’s Mountain Drive converge in Sean Christopher Weir’s memoir The Mad Crush. Read story.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Michael Pollan in Conversation

The author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma will engage in conversation with Sansum Clinic’s Dr. Kurt Ransohoff and Dr. Fred Kass. Read story.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Daniel Levitin Talks Too Much Information

Neuroscientist Daniel Levitin explores the effects of sensory overload on the brain in his latest book. Read story.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

April Is Poetry Month, Part IV

David Starkey reviews 30 books of poems, one for each day of the month. Read story.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

April Is Poetry Month, Part III

David Starkey reviews 30 books of poems, one for each day of the month. Read story.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

April is Poetry Month, Part II

More poetry reviews from The Independent’s book reviewer David Starkey. Read story.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

April is Poetry Month

Independent book reviewer David Starkey has, for the second year, written 30 short reviews to celebrate each day of Poetry Month. Read story.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Book Review: Hey Guy, This Is The Butterfly

Santa Barbara author Grace De Soto Ferry's collection of short stories makes memories soar. Read story.

Monday, March 16, 2015

Colm Tóibín Reimagines the Virgin Mary

The Testament of Mary author will appear at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Thursday, March 12. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Women’s Literary Festival

The 10th annual event takes place Saturday, March 7. Read story.

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Book Review: Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary at War

Robert Gates’s memoir is nearly 600 pages about his experiences in the Bush 43 and Obama administrations. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Who Is Lemony Snicket?

Author Daniel Handler answers the question — sort of. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: