WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

‘Tyrant’ Compares Shakespeare Villains to President

Stephen Greenblatt has written a book about Donald Trump’s presidency without ever mentioning him by name. Read story.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

‘Stamped from the Beginning’

Ibram X. Kendi makes clear our history as a nation cannot be fully understood without an understanding of racism. Read story.

Monday, July 16, 2018

‘The Ministry of Utmost Happiness’ Is Sublime Work

Author Arundhati Roy writes novel of breathtaking humanity and scope. Read story.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

‘Anthony Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook’: Classic Bistro Cooking

2004 book expresses the celebrity chef’s personality and ethos Read story.

Monday, June 18, 2018

‘Murder Gone Missing’ Disappoints

Had the execution of this mystery been equal to its conception, this book might have worked. Read story.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Dr. Nadine Burke Harris’s ‘The Deepest Well’ Is a Clarion Call

Author explores healing the long-term effects of childhood adversity in her latest book. Read story.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

‘A Great Place to Work for All’ Tells What Makes Businesses Successful

Michael C. Bush and the Great Place to Work research team say key attributes include maximizing human potential and trust. Read story.

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Libation-Inspired Poetry @ The Good Lion

‘Spirits in the Air: Poetry and the Liquid Muse’ happens April 25 in State Street bar. Read story.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

‘The Icon Hunter’: One Woman’s Mission to Recover Cyprus Artifacts

Nonfiction book tells of refugee Tasoula Hadjitofi’s quest to reclaim her nation’s stolen heritage. Read story.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Captain Liz Clark Comes of Age in 'Swell'

The sailing surfer’s autobiography is a page-turning high-seas adventure. Read story.

Friday, April 6, 2018

‘Circus of the Queens’ Is a Sweet, Satisfying Tale

Audrey Berger Welz writes of one woman’s determination, heart, and love. Read story.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

UCSB Reads Presents ‘Lab Girl’ Author

Hope Jahren will read from her best-selling book on April 5 at Campbell Hall. Read story.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

David Starkey Reviews 30 Books of Poems

Former Santa Barbara Poet Laureate and current Independent book reviewer, offers up one book for each day of National Poetry Month. Read story.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

‘In the Midst of Winter’ Draws Readers in with Compelling Characters

Isabel Allende draws readers into the lives of three people caught first in a paralyzing snowstorm and then in a murder mystery. Read story.

Monday, March 12, 2018

‘Sleepy Bunny’ Book Helps Kids Nap

Lavender farmer Melissa Broughton tells the true tale of Amos the rabbit. Read story.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: