WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

‘Wear and Tear’

Costume designer Tracy Tynan examines threads of her life. Read story.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Women Artists of California

New reference work enables fresh appreciation. Read story.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’

Midnight release party at Chaucer’s Books July 30. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

When Dogs Become Architects

Architect Dennis Thompson jumps from the drafting table to children’s literature. Read story.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Summer Reading: Beast Mode

Extreme nature writing trespasses over the species divide Read story.

Thursday, July 14, 2016

Lynette Gaona Pens Inspirational Kids’ Book

Santa Barbara singer and vocal coach takes to the page with ‘I Am Here.’ Read story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

‘People Get Ready’ Is a Call to Arms

Authors Robert McChesney and John Nichols write about ‘The Fight Against a Jobless Economy and a Citizenless Democracy’ Read story.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

‘People Get Ready’ Is a Call to Arms

Authors Robert McChesney and John Nichols Write About ‘The Fight Against a Jobless Economy and a Citizenless Democracy’ Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Books for Outdoor Lovers

Check out titles about roadside geology, animals for kids, Legos for birds, and tips for activists. Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

How to Find Quality Guys Online

Author A.J. Nelson discusses his book 'Not Here for Hookups'. Read story.

Saturday, June 4, 2016

‘A Man of Genius’ Serves Up Suspense

Lynn Rosen’s mystery novel is a philosophical and moral quest for answers. Read story.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Daredevil Clint Ewing Pens Memoir

The pro motorcyclist from Santa Barbara tells all in ‘A Freestyle Life,’ with a book-signing May 19. Read story.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Finding Peace Amid Hopi Violence

UCSB professor James Brooks explores mysterious Southwestern massacre in ‘Mesa of Sorrows.’ Read story.

Monday, May 2, 2016

Poem in Your Pocket Day

A special stanza to celebrate National Poetry Month. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

S.B. Voice Teacher Signs Her New Book

Agatha Carubia’s ‘Heart-Based Singing: Vocal Technique’ is for anyone who enjoys singing. Read story.

Thursday, April 21, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: