WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

‘The Robot War’

Joe Friend and Matt Haley’s graphic novel sets a robot apocalypse in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

'Nothing That Is Ours'

D.J. Palladino gives Santa Barbara literary treatment in his first novel. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Summer Reading Suggestions

Chaucer’s Books staff offer myriad selection of great tomes. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Ten Best Santa Barbara Novels

Sleuths, saints, and sinners explore the town’s enchantments and fatal illusions. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Deb Olin Unferth’s ‘Wait Till You See Me Dance’

Short story collection includes delightfully strange pieces. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Jo Nesbø’s ‘Thirst’

Popular Norwegian crime-fiction writer shows what a perverse and creative imagination can conceive. Read story.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Marc McGinnes ‘Rise Up’

Stilt crazy after all these years. Read story.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

'The Show That Never Ends’ Reviewed

David Weigel examines the rise and fall of prog rock in his new book. Read story.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

‘How to Kill a City’ Examines Impacts of Gentrification

Peter Moskowitz writes of inequality and the fight for the neighborhood. Read story.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

‘Lincoln in the Bardo’

George Saunders explores death and rebirth in his latest novel. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

‘The Brain: The Story of You’

David Eagleman believes that brain science and technology are coevolving, making this an unprecedented moment for the human species. Read story.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

‘Becoming Leonardo: An Exploded View of the Life of Leonardo Da Vinci’

Author Mike Lankford explores da Vinci the man. Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

New Santa Barbara Poet Laureate

Enid Osborn was given the title on April 11. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Isabel Allende Comes to S.B.

UCSB’s Arts & Lectures presents an evening with the acclaimed writer. Read story.

Monday, April 10, 2017

‘Black Belt Power’ Inspires

MAFF’s Melodee Meyer gathers extraordinary stories from martial artists. Read story.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: