WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

Santa Barbara’s El Pueblo Viejo Explored

Coauthor of new guide Mary Louise Days discusses the exhaustive and entertaining book. Read story.

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

‘Motional Blur’ Delivers Emotional Cargo

Robert Eringer’s captivating new novel moves along at a clip not unlike that of a Lincoln Town Car cruising on a long stretch of deserted interstate. Read story.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

T.C. Boyle Talks ‘The Terranauts’

The author explores the idea of harmonious coexistence in a confined space. Read story.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Christopher Newfield’s ‘Great Mistake’

UC Santa Barbara Professor’s book examines wrecked public universities and how to fix them. Read story.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

‘The Terranauts’ by T. C. Boyle

Boyle’s new novel is a beguiling take on Biosphere 2. Read story.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

‘These Are the Names’ Tells of Cruelty, Hope, and Faith

‘These are the Names’ is an unforgettable work of art. Read story.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

‘The Attention Merchants’ Reveals Commercial Exploitation

Tim Wu’s book shows that the quest for our attention, and by extension our money Read story.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Colson Whitehead Tackles Slavery

The author presents an alternate history in ‘The Underground Railroad.’ Read story.

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Presenting a Chumash Perspective of Missions

Gary Robinson’s engaging novel offers an alternative viewpoint for 4th graders. Read story.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

‘Indy’ Food Critic Releases ‘Feast Days’

The former S.B. poet laureate interviews food critic George Yatchisin about his new book of poems. Read story.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

‘Finding the Wow’ Is a Rally Cry for Following Dreams

The author follows her desire to become a pilot. Read story.

Monday, October 10, 2016

‘The Orphan Keeper’ Stumbles

Camron Wright’s novel starts out strong but peters out by the end. Read story.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Q&A with Larissa MacFarquhar

Author explores extreme goodness in her book, 'Strangers Drowning.' Read story.

Monday, October 3, 2016

‘The Comedians: Drunks, Thieves, Scoundrels, and the History of American Comedy’

Historian Kliph Nesteroff explores the outrageous underworld where laughs are born. Read story.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

‘Wear and Tear’

Costume designer Tracy Tynan examines threads of her life. Read story.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: