WEATHER »

Books & Poetry

Julia Child Comes to Life Again

Alex Prud’homme reflects on his great-aunt in ‘France Is a Feast.’ Read story.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Gin Phillips’s ‘Fierce Kingdom’

Literary thriller takes readers on a wild, dark ride. Read story.

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Chaz Hutton’s ‘Ideas of Note’

Hilarious life musings in the form of cartoon Post-it-note drawings Read story.

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Reviewed | Michael Finkel’s ‘The Stranger in the Woods’

The extraordinary tale of Christopher Knight, who lived alone for 27 years in the Maine woods Read story.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Reviewed | Jessica Bruder’s ‘Nomadland’

Author writes about surviving America in the twenty-first century. Read story.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Reviewed | Brian Fagan’s ‘Fishing: How the Sea Fed Civilization’

UCSB professor writes about how essential fishing has been to humankind. Read story.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Reviewed: Ariel Levy’s ‘The Rules Do Not Apply’

Author paints a picture of her tumultuous personal life in new book. Read story.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Peter Joseph’s ‘The New Human Rights Movement’

Author presents a comprehensive critique of the market-dominated economic system that has been in place for the past four decades. Read story.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Dennis Lehane’s ‘Since We Fell’

Author writes an engaging read and a satisfying character study of a flawed but appealing protagonist. Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Jonathan Dee’s ‘The Locals’

Author’s seventh novel keeps readers at arm’s length. Read story.

Friday, September 8, 2017

Andrew Sean Greer’s ‘Less’

Author’s sixth book is funny from beginning to end. Read story.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

‘Remember, Remember’

Anna Elliott and Charles Veley pen another Lucy James/Sherlock Holmes mystery. Read story.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Tessa Hadley’s ‘Bad Dreams and Other Stories’

The author writes sentences to savor, paragraph after paragraph, page after page. Read story.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

‘So Much Things to Say: The Oral History of Bob Marley’

Author Roger Steffens’s book doesn’t live up to the promise. Read story.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Guy Delisle’s ‘Hostage’

Cartoonist imagines Christophe André’s kidnapping and captivity in Chechnya. Read story.

Monday, August 14, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: