Film Reviews

Fishing for More in 'Pawn Sacrifice'

The biopic of a bratty Bobby Fischer falls short on compelling substance. Read story.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

‘Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials’ Is Beautiful Chaos

Full-blown wars and lightning bolts more than compensate for forsaking the author’s intentions or fan expectations. Read story.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

‘Black Mass’ Reveals Whitey Bulger's Black Heart

Crime drama centers on legendary killer's individual evil but simplifies FBI involvement. Read story.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

‘The Second Mother’'s Dramatic Domesticity

Regina Casé wows as maid in Brazilian film, ‘The Second Mother’ Read story.

Monday, September 21, 2015

‘Grandma’ Is a Triumph

Lily Tomlin gives passionate performance in this film that sweeps across the history of women’s struggles in the last half-century. Read story.

Friday, September 18, 2015

‘The Visit’ Is M. Night Shyamalan’s Assertive Comeback

This film seduces us with an audacious blend of comedy and terror. Read story.

Thursday, September 17, 2015

‘A Brilliant Young Mind’ Gets It Right

Scripted with intelligence and flirting cleverly with the clichés, this film chronicles the upbringing of an emotionally constipated math genius kid. Read story.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

‘Un gallo con muchos huevos’ Tells an Inspirational Story

This animated film from Mexico is promising stuff with stylishness and sheer audience appeal. Read story.

Thursday, September 10, 2015

‘A Walk in the Woods’ Is Muddy Dreck

Bill Bryson’s tale of hiking the Appalachian Trail is turned into an aging boomer bromance. Read story.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

The Limitless Horizons of ‘Meru’

Death-defying cinematography stars in Himalayan climbing documentary. Read story.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

‘Best of Enemies’: Gore Vidal vs. William F. Buckley

Two renowned Intellectuals — one liberal, one conservative — debate politics circa 1968. Read story.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

‘American Ultra’ Is Blood-Soaked Fun

Film’s Humor lies in blood-soaked excesses interrupted by tender feelings. Read story.

Thursday, August 27, 2015

‘Sinister 2’: Torment for the Whole Family

The torture-filled ‘Sinister 2’ is a not-very-scary celebration of kids' morbid psyches. Read story.

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Straight Outta Compton’s Poetic Justice

N.W.A’S legacy is remembered in new biopic. Read story.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

The End of the Tour’s Portrait of an Artist

Jason Segel and Jesse Eisenberg star in a film about author David Foster Wallace. Read story.

Tuesday, August 18, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: