WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Review: The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water

This whole movie would make James Joyce happy; it’s brimming with puns, narrative loops, and complicated satirical references. Read story.

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Review: Jupiter Ascending

The once-genius Wachowskis arrive at mediocrity with this sci-fi dud. Read story.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Review: Project Almanac

This found-footage time-travel flick never lives up to its own potential for amazing or fearful outcomes. Read story.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Review: Two Days, One Night

This is not a depressing film or a feel-good film or even a morally grounded film; it’s a slice of life film that triumphs because it’s not afraid to be all three. Read story.

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Review: A Most Violent Year

This film tells the story of a man passionately devoted to making his business run as clean as possible in a lawlessness era. Read story.

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

An Evening with Michael Keaton

The Birdman actor receives this year’s Modern Master Award in front of a packed house at the Arlington. Read story.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Review: Cake

Jennifer Aniston turns in a complex performance that makes all of Cake’s flaws fade into the background. Read story.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Review: Mortdecai

Johnny Depp’s latest isn’t great, but it certainly doesn’t signal the end of Western civilization as many have written. Read story.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Review: American Sniper

Bradley Cooper carries this film, while Clint Eastwood’s no-nonsense direction style pushes us through the melodramatic moments. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Review: Blackhat

Blackhat is director Michael Mann trying to make a Hong Kong thriller. But it isn’t as bad as people are saying. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Review: Taken 3

Taken 3 is a blurry action flick buried beneath an annoyingly careful quasi-morality tale. Read story.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Review: Selma

This highly watchable MLK biopic is full of heart and modern-day resonance. Read story.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Review: The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death

2 is a cozy ghost story with little onscreen violence and a peculiar, kind of useless plot. Read story.

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Review: Unbroken

As impressive as Unbroken is, it doesn’t feel original or essential. Read story.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Review: Into the Woods

Despite some Disneyfication, Into the Woods is a solid adaptation of the Sondheim musical, with messages for kids and adults alike. Read story.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: