WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Review: The Lazarus Effect

Mark Duplass, Olivia Wilde, and Evan Peters star in a film written by Luke Dawson and Jeremy Slater and directed by David Gelb. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Review: Zero Motivation

Set on an Israeli military base, this female-focused coming-of-age dramedy is both witty and poignant. Read story.

Monday, March 2, 2015

Review: What We Do in the Shadows

Flight of the Conchords alum Jemaine Clement cowrites, codirects, and costars in this mockumentary about three hapless vampires. Read story.

Friday, February 27, 2015

Review: Mr. Turner

Timothy Spall stars as the revered 19th-century painter in director Mike Leigh's latest beautifully shot new film Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Review: The DUFF

Mae Whitman shines in this great—and long overdue—teen comedy. Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Review: Hot Tub Time Machine 2

Review: DJ Palladino takes on @HotTubMovie Read story.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan heat up the screen in this serviceable adaptation of E.L. James’ steamy novel. Read story.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Review: The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water

This whole movie would make James Joyce happy; it’s brimming with puns, narrative loops, and complicated satirical references. Read story.

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Review: Jupiter Ascending

The once-genius Wachowskis arrive at mediocrity with this sci-fi dud. Read story.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Review: Project Almanac

This found-footage time-travel flick never lives up to its own potential for amazing or fearful outcomes. Read story.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Review: Two Days, One Night

This is not a depressing film or a feel-good film or even a morally grounded film; it’s a slice of life film that triumphs because it’s not afraid to be all three. Read story.

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Review: A Most Violent Year

This film tells the story of a man passionately devoted to making his business run as clean as possible in a lawlessness era. Read story.

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

An Evening with Michael Keaton

The Birdman actor receives this year’s Modern Master Award in front of a packed house at the Arlington. Read story.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Review: Cake

Jennifer Aniston turns in a complex performance that makes all of Cake’s flaws fade into the background. Read story.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Review: Mortdecai

Johnny Depp’s latest isn’t great, but it certainly doesn’t signal the end of Western civilization as many have written. Read story.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: