WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Review: Horrible Bosses 2

Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, and Charlie Day reprise their roles as three hapless disgruntled employees—except this time, the script’s not funny. Read story.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Review: Antarctica: A Year on Ice

This look at life in Antarctica was 10 years in the making. Read story.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Review: The Imitation Game

Benedict Cumberbatch stars in this good (not great) Hollywood film about the growing pains of a genius. Read story.

Monday, December 8, 2014

Review: Foxcatcher

Steve Carell turns in a career-defining performance as real-life millionaire John du Pont. Read story.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Review: The Homesman

Hilary Swank and Tommy Lee Jones play unlikely sympathizers in this brutal drama about life in the 1800s American frontier. Read story.

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1

Jennifer Lawrence steals the show in this otherwise plodding lead up to the franchise’s finale. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Review: The Theory of Everything

A smart script, powerful performances, and artful direction round out this heartfelt, original Stephen Hawking biopic. Read story.

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Review: Diplomacy

Volker Schlöndorff’s film succeeds, thanks to two fine actors engaging that premier WWII plot device: an impossible quandary. Read story.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Review: Whiplash

Even during a year of remarkable movies, Whiplash stands as a monument to cinematic craft. Read story.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Review: Big Hero 6

This is the first spawn of the unholy marriage between Disney and Marvel Comics, and without a doubt, it wears the shared DNA on its cartoon sleeves. Read story.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Review: Interstellar

Christopher Nolan’s latest is a spectacularly mind-bending, affecting space opus with epic ambitions. Read story.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Review: Nightcrawler

Jake Gyllenhaal proves that he shines his brightest when he’s channeling the unstable and morally depraved. Read story.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Review: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

The reason to love this film lies almost completely in its performances. Read story.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Review: The Blue Room

This stunning, stylish French thriller falls short in its final moments. Read story.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Review: White Bird in a Blizzard

You want Blizzard to spiral out into an Unsolved Mysteries–style suburban whodunnit, but instead we get an hour of confused hardheartedness. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: