WEATHER »

Film Reviews

‘Brooklyn’

‘Brooklyn’ is a strong woman’s film, but it’s also a glowing testament to America’s meaning. Read story.

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

‘Trumbo’ Falls Short

The film is better than a Schoolhouse Rock history but in need of a more artful screenwriter. Read story.

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

‘Spotlight’ Gives the Inside Scoop on Good Reporting

Film tells how the ‘Boston Globe’ uncovered sexual abuse in the Catholic Church. Read story.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

‘The Good Dinosaur’ Has Heart and Soul

Pixar’s prehistoric spirit quest good for all ages. Read story.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

‘Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2’

Jennifer Lawrence turns in a brilliant performance in the series’ last offering. Read story.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

‘The 33’ Does Not Go Deep Enough

The movie of the Chilean miners’ plight is motivational but not meaningful. Read story.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

‘Room’ Captures Human Resilience

‘Room’ is at times creepy, thrilling, tender, melodramatic, and suffused with unexpected beauty. Read story.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Chase Scenes in ‘Spectre’ Rock

Daniel Craig plays James Bond one last time. Read story.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Liberties are Taken in ‘Truth’

Film is more about Mary Mapes saga than Bush’s falsified military record. Read story.

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

‘Steve Jobs’ Is a Thrilling Talking Movie

Director Danny Boyle creates a soaring, engaging, intricately choreographed film crammed with conversations, fights, and even touching exchanges. Read story.

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

‘Rock the Kasbah’ Doesn’t Deliver

Director Barry Levinson’s latest film gets lost in Afghani desert sands. Read story.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

‘Sicario’: An Intense and Artful Critique on Drug War

Director Denis Villenueve crafts a powerful sociopolitical thriller. Read story.

Thursday, October 22, 2015

‘Bridge of Spies’

There is no shiver in Steven Spielberg’s version of Cold War legal life. Read story.

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

‘Pan’: Weird and Fun

Director Joe Wright takes viewers to the edge of frustration and then exhilarates. It’s weird and then fun. Read story.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

‘The New Girlfriend’ a Delightful Love Story

This new French film bends gender and friend roles. Read story.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: