WEATHER »

History 101

Jeremiah Brown's Body Lies in Santa Barbara

Brother to John Brown, his grave lay forgotten for decades. Read story.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Early Santa Barbara's Dibblee Brothers

With partner W.W. Hollister held 140,000 acres in Santa Barbara County. Read story.

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Montecito's Hot Springs

Waters held curative powers and cleaned laundry. Read story.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Portraitist Leonardo Barbieri

The Savoyard roamed the Americas, painting notables and escaping death. Read story.

Originally published 12:00 a.m., June 8, 2016
Updated 10:56 a.m., June 17, 2016

Gin Chow: The Wizard of Lompoc

He was said to be able to predict weather and earthquakes. Read story.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

George IV's Grandson Held San Andres Property

Site was owned by Army surgeon, rancher, and avocado grower; is now Shoreline Community Church. Read story.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Alice Schott and the Alhecama Theatre

Midwest transplant championed arts, education, and women's health. Read story.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Santa Barbara’s White House

Long-standing men's store was started by the forward-thinking Jacob Eisenberg. Read story.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

The Romance of Concha Argüello

A starving Alaskan colony leads to Russian-Californio relations. Read story.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Santa Barbara's Arts and Crafts Potter Frederick Rhead

Originator of Fiesta ware had a home and studio on Tornoe Road. Read story.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Samarkand: From Boyland to Retirement Complex

The site changed from a school for boys to hotel to housing. Read story.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Carpinteria's Cate School

Over 100 years old, the school reflects many educational principles set down by Curtis Wolsey Cate. Read story.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Mountain Drive's Unique Community

This residential enclave of free spirits, located in the hills above Montecito, began to coalesce in the years following World War II. Read story.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

A Serene Park with a Colorful Past

One of the most tranquil places on the South Coast is the Andrée Clark Bird Refuge. Read story.

Monday, January 11, 2016

Santa Barbara’s First Hotel

An English couple, resettling via South America, opened the Ivy Green Hotel downtown. Read story.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: