WEATHER »

History 101

The Antecedents of Arroyo Burro Beach

The Hendrys named a beach and a blacksmith's. Read story.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Percy Heckendorf: Prosecuted Chief of Police for Corruption

And the mayor for extorting money from city employees to fund his newspaper. Read story.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Santa Barbara's Postcard Souvenirs

Billions of cards were produced and sold around the turn of the previous century. Read story.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

The Man Who Named Orpet Park

A second-generation gardener, E. O. became Santa Barbara's most distinguished horticulturalist. Read story.

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

The History of Rattlesnake Canyon

The origins of both the names 'Rattlesnake' and 'Las Canoas' remain a mystery. Read story.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

The Origin of Heath Ranch Park

An arduous journey from New York brought Russel Heath finally to Carpinteria. Read story.

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Paul Whiteman: The King of Jazz

From Puccini to Gershwin, he had an ear for talent. Read story.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Early Banks and Banking in Santa Barbara

The 19th century saw silver, gold, and even cattle hides used as media of exchange; paper currency and banks arrived later in the century. Read story.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The Delights of Diehl's Grocery

John, Edward, and William Diehl's grocery story was known for dazzling displays of fresh and exotic items. Read story.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

The History Behind Street Names

How Salsipuedes and Quarantina streets got their names. Read story.

Friday, November 21, 2014

The Other House at Bellosguardo

Before the Clark mansion was built, the bluff top was home to the William Miller Graham family. Read story.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

The Coral Casino

Built by the imperious Robert Odell, the Biltmore's adjunct club hosted debutantes and movie stars. Read story.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Alpheus Thompson

Built one of the first Monterey-style adobes in California. Read story.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Theodore Roosevelt Visits Santa Barbara

Presidents have been not been strangers to Santa Barbara. Read story.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Devereux Point

This area’s recent history begins in 1919 with the arrival to American shores of the wealthy Colin Campbell family. Read story.

Friday, September 5, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: