In Print - Opinions

She Walked in Love and Joy

In all my half-century-plus in newspaper work, after many thousands of words, this is the hardest column I ever wrote. Read story.

Thursday, October 22, 2015

UC Goleta?

What could possibly go wrong with district elections ... ? Read story.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Dog Star Rising

Talking chum vests and an assisted suicide bill. Read story.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Beat the Heat with a Whodunit

Find a breezy location and settle in with some low crime for times of high heat. Read story.

Thursday, October 1, 2015

12 Angry Dogs

Poodle gets whiplash over what to make of Pope Francis. Read story.

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Unchain Your Dog

Poodle barks up a storm about the new kids’ library. Read story.

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Diary of a Teenage Dog

Push comes to shove with a landmark climate change bill. Read story.

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Let Me Be Your Little Dog ’Til Your Big Dog Comes

Poodle ponders City College enrollments, vacation rentals, and the rent squeeze. Read story.

Thursday, September 3, 2015

News Fleas, Same Dog

District elections are back after 50 years; early indications are encouraging. Read story.

Thursday, August 20, 2015

GOP Trumped

The Donald’s demagoguery flows naturally from Tea Party Republicanism. Read story.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Drool of the Dog

Poodle sings “You Don’t Miss Your Water ’Til Your Reservoir Runs Dry.” Read story.

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Home on the Mange

There are no barbarians at the gate in the wake of Prop. 47. Read story.

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Chicken in Every Garage, Dog in Every Pot

How Congress will make lemonade from the recent oil spill Read story.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

The Divine Canine

The Pope and Donald Trump to duke it out at Chumash Casino. Read story.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Night of the Living Dog

SCOTUS Giveth, and SCOTUS Taketh Away; Poodle Riffs on Recent Death Penalty Ruling Read story.

Thursday, July 2, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: