WEATHER »

KCSBeat

Colin Marshall covers the history and modern times of KCSB 91.9FM.

A KCSBeat Retrospective, Part II

The KCSBeat's original columnist signs off. Read story.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

A KCSBeat Retrospective, Part I

The KCSBeat looks back at two fun-filled years of writing about the freeform station's music, its history, and, of course, mysterious super-listener Dave from the Grave. Read story.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

The Improvisatory Explorer

Steve Snyder reveals a Joyful Cosmos of music every Monday night. Read story.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Strong Opinions, Unpredictable Mixes, and Repurposed Disco

The KCSBeat's last overnight diary entry records all kinds of really cool stuff. Read story.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

A Shot of the Auteur Label

Colin Marshall digs through the stacks and rediscovers some rarities from the Editions of Contemporary Music label. Read story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

KCSBeat, Meet Yardbeat

The KCSBeat learns that Jamaican music is more than reggae and reggae is more than Bob Marley. Read story.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

A Surprise Evening of Japanese Jazz

The KCSBeat makes this long-threatened KCSB show a reality. Read story.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

En la Radio KCSB, Se Puede

The KCSBeat throbs for Alma del Barrio's tropicália, Latin jazz, samba, bossa nova, and more. Read story.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

KCSB on Your iPod — or Audio Device of Choice

The KCSBeat warns that we disregard the joy of listening to whatever we want, whenever we want, at our peril. Read story.

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Jazz, Ambient, Women, and Musicology in the Wee Hours

The KCSBeat listens late. Read story.

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Keeping It Kablamo

The KCSBeat talks to the ladies who deliver Saturday afternoon’s danceability. Read story.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

On KCSB, If Not from KCSB

The KCSBeat reports on the station’s suite of news and public affairs broadcasts from elsewhere. Read story.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Globalizing Your News Portfolio

Twist your radio dial to a refreshingly international news source Read story.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Musical Duels Across Space and Time

The KCSBeat listens to Indy's own food editor George Yatchisin and freak genius radio veteran Frank Goad, who DJ their own way. Read story.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Blues Explosion

The KCSBeat searches for what's unusual in the university's blues library. Read story.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Multicultural Craft Program: Japan

Join us for the first session of our multicultural craft ... Read More