WEATHER »

Multimedia

Spencer the Gardener’s ‘Going to a Party’ Music Video

Spencer Barnitz on his latest song, salsa dancing, and portraying Santa Barbara. Read story.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

‘Santa Barbara Independent’ Honors Local Heroes at Luncheon

Community leaders and members gathered at SOhO for the Independent's annual event. Read story.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Generations of Jade

Jeff Spangler passes stone tradition to his grandchildren. Read story.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Indivisible Santa Barbara Hosts 'My Vote Is Mine' Screening

The documentary examines vulnerabilities in the nation's electronic voting system. Read story.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

You Otter See This

Baby otters at the Santa Barbara Zoo on video. Read story.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Newsmakers | Election Results and the Search for a New Bank

Jerry Roberts, plus guests Laura Capps, Dale Francisco, Josh Molina, and Kelsey Brugger, takes on the week’s news. Read story.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Welcome to the Jungle

Filmmaker Morgan Maassen goes around the world in 17 minutes. Read story.

Friday, November 17, 2017

UCSB Professor Richard Ross Brings ‘Beautiful Trouble’

“I don't think anybody can turn on any media … without feeling that the world is sand at their feet. How do you address that?” Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Landlord James Gelb Verbally Accosts Isla Vista Official Ethan Bertrand on State Street

The encounter started with criticism of the controversial landlord's practices and ended in homophobic slurs. Read story.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Asian American Neighborhood Festival Comes to El Presidio

Celebrating "the history and culture of the Asian communities that once thrived in and around the Santa Barbara Presidio" Read story.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

LIVE: Dolores Huerta Leads Rally for Mayoral Candidate Cathy Murillo

The renowned labor activist led the rally in De La Guerra Plaza. Read story.

Friday, October 27, 2017

LIVE: Democratic Gubernatorial Candidates Appear at Forum

Gavin Newsom, Antonio Villaraigosa, Delaine Eastin, and John Chiang are participating in the National Union of Healthcare Workers-sponsored forum. Read story.

Sunday, October 22, 2017

Baby Otters Born at the Santa Barbara Zoo

Squeaks in a nest box announce newborns to zookeepers. Read story.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Zach Gill Rocks Pianos on State

Famed keyboardist and Goleta resident tickles the keys on the Indy-sponsored piano. Read story.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

LIVE: District 6 Candidates Speak at Forum

The Independent's Tyler Hayden leads a conversation with District 6 candidates Gregg Hart, Jack Ucciferri, and Aaron Solis. Read story.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: