WEATHER »

Multimedia

Condor Chick Just Hatched

Watch live video of California condor chick meeting its parents. Read story.

Monday, April 4, 2016

The Urchin Diver

A day in the life of my father, who's harvested the Santa Barbara Channel for over three decades. Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Interview with a Syrian Refugee

At a refugee transit camp in October, Robin Jones conducted this provocative interview with a Syrian who made it to the Greek island of Lesbos. Read story.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Dance for Peace 2016

Larry Nimmer's annual procession from Carpinteria to Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Ninette Paloma: Come Fly With Me

Short video about choreographer and her aerial dancing. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Keith Smith Is On a Mission to Walk Again

Former Santa Maria EMT hopes to walk again through new therapy technique offered at UCLA. Read story.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Tattoo Art of Maggie Yates

The stories behind our writer's illustrated flesh. Read story.

Monday, January 25, 2016

A Swell Weekend

A major swell came onto Santa Barbara's shores this past weekend. Max Kyle was out with his camera and captured a few of them for us. Read story.

Monday, December 14, 2015

Getting Off the Ground in Denver

State Street Ballet video of airport stay goes viral. Read story.

Friday, December 11, 2015

Carpinteria at 50

A decade by decade look at the city's big news stories since its 1965 incorporation. Read story.

Friday, November 6, 2015

Paul Relis: Environmental Frontiersman

In the first of a series of films, environmentalist Paul Relis talks about how an environmental consciousness evolved. Read story.

Originally published 11:30 a.m., October 9, 2015
Updated 4:14 p.m., October 15, 2015

VIDEO: Thirsty Cachuma and Gibraltar from Above

Drone footage gives the drought a new perspective. Read story.

Saturday, October 3, 2015

VIDEO: Jet-Setting with the Breitling Team

Indy photographer Paul Wellman soars over Pt. Mugu ahead of weekend air show. Read story.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Gaviota Kayaker Fends off Aggressive Shark

Captured on GoPro, the local fisherman fights a hammerhead with his paddle. Read story.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Matthew McAvene’s Tiger Heroes

Santa Barbara artist supports campaign to save big cats. Read story.

Monday, August 10, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: