PRESS RELEASE / ANNOUNCEMENTS Monday, February 27, 2012

National Merit Program Finalists for 2012

Schools have now received the names of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s National Merit finalists. This year, 16 students were identified from the Santa Barbara district.

The finalists from the Santa Barbara district are:

San Marcos High School

  • David McBride

Santa Barbara High School

  • Cyrus Caretto
  • Olivia Walker

Dos Pueblos High School

  • Jacqueline Botts
  • Phoebe Bradbury
  • Sophie D’Arcy
  • Vy-Luan Huynh
  • Shen Meinhold
  • Waiman Meinhold
  • Justin Morris
  • Benjamin Sutton
  • Lora Voyen
  • Connie Wang
  • Chloe Warinner
  • Jacob Wiener
  • Michael Yi

Annually, of the 1.5 million students who take the National Merit Scholarship Program’s PSAT/MNSQT, approximately 50,000 are identified with the highest score in three areas: critical reading plus math plus writing skills. In September, about 34,000 commended students and 16,000 semifinalists are selected from the pool of 50,000 high-scoring students. Then, in February, finalists are selected from the pool of semifinalists.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be chosen from the pool of finalists, based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments. From March through mid-June, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation notifies approximately 8,300 finalists that they have been selected to received a National Merit Scholarship award (corporate-sponsored award, college-sponsored award, or a special scholarship).

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by: