WEATHER »

Film

Review: Maleficent

This movie’s dimwitted concept mimics the same urge that created the long-running Broadway hit Wicked. Read story.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Review: Ida

The outcome of this spiritual odyssey is nowhere near as interesting as the scenes that director Pawel Pawlikowski creates. Read story.

Monday, June 2, 2014

Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past

Like all cool old Marvel Comics, Future Past leaves you wishing for a time machine to find out what wonders the future might hold. Read story.

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Review: The Immigrant

Marion Cotillard steals the show in this period piece about a woman who falls prey to two men following her arrival at Ellis Island. Read story.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Review: Only Lovers Left Alive

Jim Jarmusch’s latest is a visually dazzling film that suffers from its script’s patronizing tone. Read story.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Review: Godzilla

Gareth Edwards delivers a wonderful reworking of the Godzilla myth, complete with citywide destruction and fire breathing. Read story.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

DamNation Comes Home

The award-winning environmental documentary, produced by Patagonia head Yvon Chouinard and UCSB grad Matt Stoecker, premieres May 21. Read story.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Review: Neighbors

Rose Byrne steals the show in this tale about a married couple pitted against their new frat house neighbors. Read story.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Review: Locke

Tom Hardy delivers a powerful performance in this nuanced one-character film from writer/director Steven Knight. Read story.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Review: The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Andrew Garfield returns as Peter Parker in this decidedly comic-book-centric sequel to 2012’s The Amazing Spider-Man. Read story.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Review: The Double

Director Richard Ayoade gives us an experimental art film that suffers from a case of predictability. Read story.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Review: The Other Woman

Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann add some much-needed complexity to this dumb take on the revenge rom-com. Read story.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Review: Fading Gigolo

John Turturro directs and stars in this silly but startling little film. Read story.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

The Philip Glass Ensemble Rescores La belle et la bête

UCSB Arts & Lectures will present Glass’s critically praised film and live music project on April 30. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Review: Transcendence

Inconsistencies muck up what could have been a decent sci-fi tale of man and machine. Read story.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: