WEATHER »

Film

Love & Mercy Reveals Brian Wilson’s Worlds

Paul Dano and John Cusack play Beach Boy frontman past and future brilliantly. Read story.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Insidious: Chapter 3 Same Old Cheap Thrills

Horror franchise churns out same movie wrapped in different acting skins. Read story.

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Gemma Bovery Packs a Punch

While this film resembles Flaubert’s classic novel, it differs in its message. Read story.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

San Andreas Reviewed

This film plays on popular fears: A Big One will tear the Golden State into nuggets. Read story.

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Say Goodbye to Aloha

Cameron Crowe’s romantic drama should be tossed into a Hawaiian volcano. Read story.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Tomorrowland

Disney’s latest film makes an appeal for a better world. Read story.

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Poltergeist Reimagined

This remake isn’t scarier nor does it delve into new territory. Read story.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Far from the Madding Crowd

This retelling of Thomas Hardy’s novel maintains the pastoral gentility of the genre without drowning it in sappy sentiment. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Mad Max: Fury Road

Director George Miller blends the truly hideous with the spectacularly beautiful in this fourth installment. Read story.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Hot Pursuit Is a Cold Fish

Reese Witherspoon and Sofía Vergara star in this cliché odd-couple buddy flick trying to be The Heat Read story.

Thursday, May 14, 2015

The D Train

Jack Black, James Marsden, and Kathryn Hahn star in this dark-hearted film. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Avengers: Age of Ultron Reviewed

As this sequel makes abundantly clear, Joss Whedon may not be the shepherd Marvel wants to lead the fanboy flock. Read story.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Félix and Meira Reviewed

A Hasidic married woman’s world unravels when she meets a single secular man Read story.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Film: The Age of Adaline

Blake Lively stars in this lovely, thoughtful romantic drama. Read story.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Film: Ex Machina

Domhnall Gleeson and Oscar Isaac star in a slow, weird, beautiful movie about god, humanity, and machinery. Read story.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: