WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Review: The Drop

Tom Hardy steals scenes in this crime drama penned by Dennis Lehane. Read story.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Review: A Summer’s Tale

Like a French Richard Linklater, writer/director Eric Rohmer knows how to make profound statements out of the seemingly mundane. Read story.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Review: The Identical

The trouble with The Identical is that it has an agenda that makes it impossible to explore the inspired premise with all its dramatic possibilities. Read story.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Review: As Above, So Below

The shaky-cam tactic doesn’t destroy this creepy underground adventure, but it doesn’t help it, either. Read story.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Review: The Last of Robin Hood

Kevin Kline shines as the notorious Hollywood lothario in his final days. Read story.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Review: Frank

Frank is the bittersweet monument that contemporary rock deserves. Read story.

Friday, August 29, 2014

Review: If I Stay

Chloë Grace Moretz gives a strong performance as a teen caught in between life and death. Read story.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Review: Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

This is a gorgeous, decadent film, especially seen in 3D, but the story is too simplistic to get lost in. Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Review: Le Chef

Daniel Cohen cowrites and directs this French live-action take on the Ratatouille tale. Read story.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Review: Calvary

Writer/director John Michael McDonagh gives us a tense mystery that asks a lot of tough questions about sin, redemption, and forgiveness. Read story.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Review: The Giver

The long-awaited film based on Lois Lowry’s novel struggles through its big-screen reinvention. Read story.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Review: Magic in the Moonlight

Despite its rough start and sour finale, there are some ingenious moments in Woody Allen’s latest period piece. Read story.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Review: The Hundred-Foot Journey

Lasse (Chocolat) Hallstrom returns to the world of food porn with this tale of culinary culture clash. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Review: A Most Wanted Man

Philip Seymour Hoffman's role includes an air of tragic fate that seems stamped on his features in the same way that every Kurt Cobain song seemed to be about guns. Read story.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Review: Guardians of the Galaxy

Chris Pratt stars as the leader of a ragtag team of space misfits in this thrilling and spot-on sci-fi tale. Read story.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: