WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Reviewed | ‘BPM (Beats per Minute)’

Film conveys a historical slice of life in the AIDS struggle with a strong, supple cinematic voice. Read story.

Friday, November 17, 2017

Reviewed | ‘Murder on the Orient Express’

Kenneth Branagh’s film isn’t a nuanced character drama, but offers a fun puzzle for Agatha Christie fans. Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Reviewed | ‘Wonderstruck’

The plot moves along so slowly that it is difficult to feel any connection to the subjects. Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Reviewed | ‘The Killing of a Sacred Deer’

The film plays out with the inevitability and perversity of a classical tragedy. Read story.

Monday, November 13, 2017

‘The Square’

The illuminating, sly, and beautifully made film is a must-see in S.B.'s suddenly busy art-house scene. Read story.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Reviewed | 'The Florida Project'

Director Sean Baker’s slice-of-life film focuses on poverty in the U.S. Read story.

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Reviewed: 'Blade Runner 2049'

The sequel presents a bleak vision of the future with a stunning command of space and scale. Read story.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Reviewed: ‘Loving Vincent’

Film is an artistic masterpiece. Read story.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Reviewed: ‘Django’

This biopic explores Django Reinhart’s life during the Nazi occupation of France. Read story.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

‘The Big Sick’

Film is a huge step forward for diversity in Hollywood, and is all the funnier and more painful for the crossed wires of Pakistani and American cultures.
 Read story.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

‘Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World’

This fascinating documentary packs a lot of info, sobering sociocultural revelations, and stirring music into a revelatory two-hour journey.
 Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

‘Dolores’

The film gives valuable, equal time to Dolores Huerta, an undeservedly lesser-known but vitally important figure in the farmworker struggle and grape boycott. Read story.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

The Deepest State

New documentary ‘Icarus’ exposes Russian sports doping scheme. Read story.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

‘The Exception’

Even Christopher Plummer can’t save this film; check out reruns of Hogan’s Heroes instead. Read story.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

It Comes At Night

Playing on fears, this survivalist horror flick is a surreal thought-provoker. Read story.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: