WEATHER »

Jazz

Jazz at the Lobero Announces 2011-12 Season

The city’s top venue for jazz has announced another stellar lineup. Read story.

Friday, July 29, 2011

DeRose and Other Jazzy Delights

Stanford has a jazz festival, and the Lobero has announced its Jazz series season. Read story.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Dena DeRose Sings at SOhO

Jazz on the horizon, plus classically-minded metal from Liturgy at Muddy Waters. Read story.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Greetings from Kongsberg

Norway is the preferred destination for lovers of fringe jazz this month. Read story.

Friday, July 15, 2011

Montreal Jazz Fest Report

From Prince and Esperanza to Brad Mehldau and Marc Ribot, the Montreal Jazz Fest keeps the musical goodness flowing, sometimes even freely. Read story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Music Academy of the West Season Opens

Gonzalo Rubalcaba and Craig Taborn have both released intriguing new jazz keyboard CDs. Read story.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Live Oak Round Up, Ojai Look Back

Live Oak Music Festival boasts a strong lineup this year that includes Mavis Staples, Toots and the Maytals, and the Texas Tornadoes. Read story.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Ojai Legends and Legacies

Jazz composer and bandleader Marie Schneider brings her hand and her band to the 65th Ojai Festival’s programming mix. Read story.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Victoriaville Heroes

Anthony Braxton and Peter Brotzmann were celebrated at this year’s festival in Victoriaville. Read story.

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Something New

The wealth of new classical music this spring is a glorious earful. Read story.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Ruo, Koh, and Other Delights

The Santa Barbara Symphony and Camerata Pacifica embrace the work of living composers. Read story.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Kurt Elling at the Lobero Theatre

Elling’s new album, The Gate, is propelling him to the best performances of his career. Read story.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Jazz Genius

Kurt Elling brings his jazzy vocals to the Lobero Theatre on Tuesday. Read story.

Friday, April 15, 2011

New Trumpet Talent

Jazz gets an exciting new voice and the Tetzlaff Quartet comes to the Lobero. Read story.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Music + Noise + Body

Experimental music takes over UCSB, while the Santa Barbara Symphony plays it less-than-safe in its upcoming concert season. Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2011
event calendar sponsored by: