WEATHER »

Eye on Isla Vista

Got Plans

Eye on Isla Vista reveals what's on the agenda for Parks and Rec this summer, including an urban tree plan. Read story.

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Where Renters Can Turn for Help

Eye on Isla Vista sits down with Hilary Kleger, community advisor who works with the I.V. Tenants Union. Read story.

Saturday, July 28, 2012

A Walk down Memory Lane

A view of I.V. during the riots of '69 through the eyes of someone who was there. Read story.

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Fruits of Isla Vista

Stopping to pick the brambleberries. Read story.

Saturday, June 30, 2012

Taking the Good with the Bad

Each year, when students move out for the summer, the area becomes a wasteland of discarded furniture, mattresses, rusted bikes, and many other items. Read story.

Saturday, June 16, 2012

To the Parks!

Eye on Isla Vista encourages students and householders to make the downtown parks great places to be. Read story.

Friday, June 1, 2012

When Dogs Attack

Eye on Isla Vista recounts experiences with dogs who terrorize humans and other dogs, and owners who seem to feel no remorse. Read story.

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Town and Gown Together

Eye on Isla Vista says the college community could be the epicenter of the environmental movement. Read story.

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Fun Run and Walk to Support Rape Crisis Center

Prevention educators tell Eye on Isla Vista that sometimes people don't realize that they meet the legal definition of a victim – or a rapist. Read story.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Eucalyptus Removal Kerfuffle

Citing safety concerns, Isla Vista Recreation and Park District yanks six trees. Read story.

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Bigger Is Sometimes Better

As more housing goes up in Isla Vista, more SBCC students move there, creating an overflow demand for bus service. Read story.

Saturday, March 24, 2012

The Coastline's New Rules

Eye on Isla Vista gazes out on the newly designated Marine Protected Area. Read story.

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Ruling Isla Vista

Vacancy on the all-powerful Parks and Rec Board Read story.

Monday, February 20, 2012

Gaucho Women Rule

Eye on I.V. is crazy about UCSB women's basketball and waterpolo games. Read story.

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Natural Weed Whackers

There are some new attractions out on the bluffs in the Devereux area: mini-Nubian goats inside a moveable fence, chomping on weeds to provide open space for native plants to thrive. Read story.

Saturday, January 21, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: