WEATHER »

Gardening

Gardening: December Duties

If there is some time to spend in the garden, there are little chores that will lend satisfaction and maybe ease a little of the holiday stress, too. Read story.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Plant Rotations

Dance is not the only venue where separating and taking a new stance can be enjoyable and fruitful; gardens can benefit from a spin now and then, too. Read story.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Mighty Marigolds

While there are references in Aztec history to the marigold as a cure for hiccups or to protect from lightening strikes, it was more highly regarded for its decorative value. Read story.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

It’s Really Fall

Here’s a short list of possible tasks and other chores to look to in the coming weeks. Read story.

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Historic Flame Tree

It is a very old specimen of a rare hybrid that was growing in the former site of one of Francesco Franceschi’s nurseries. Read story.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Art Deco Flowers

The bromeliad plant family outdoes itself with amazing color combinations in many of its flowers. Read story.

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Fiddleheads

As in any family, there are the stars and the black sheep of this hairy genus. Read story.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

The Dirt on Dirt

It’s a great time to build a good basis for next year's growth by feeding the soil. Read story.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Digging a Hole

Here are a few simple rules to follow for planting everything from seedlings to boxed specimens. Read story.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

July Tips for Green Thumbs

How to make your garden prosper in the high summer months. Read story.

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Plant Inventors

Humans have exploited plants’ adaptability now for tens of thousands of years. Read story.

Monday, July 1, 2013

Flora Photo Books

Coffee-table books abound that document heirloom roses, impossible shots of knot gardens, or portraits of ancient trees. Read story.

Saturday, June 29, 2013

Helio Flora

There are plenty of flowering plants that bask in summer sun, and there are even some that have been named for that propensity. Read story.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Palm Trees: Part II

The frond-fringed plant grows all around S.B. Read story.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Perfect Palms

There are a couple of hardy palms that do well in Southern California’s environment. Read story.

Thursday, May 30, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: