WEATHER »

Gardening

Helio Flora

There are plenty of flowering plants that bask in summer sun, and there are even some that have been named for that propensity. Read story.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Palm Trees: Part II

The frond-fringed plant grows all around S.B. Read story.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Perfect Palms

There are a couple of hardy palms that do well in Southern California’s environment. Read story.

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Harvest Salad

More than half of the nation's fruit, nuts, and vegetables come from California. Read story.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Pollen Producers

Trees that make folks sneeze include maples and eucalyptus. Read story.

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Double Meanings

Below are some words that mean something different in a horticultural situation. Read story.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Yellow Dragon Disease

A devastating new pest threatens citrus trees. Read story.

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Marvelous Mallows

Pretty flowers and pest reduction? What could be more perfect? Read story.

Monday, April 8, 2013

How-To Books

Two new books are just out that take very different looks at what modern gardens could, and maybe should, be like. Read story.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Spider Senses

Webs that cross your path are just evidence that the spider corps is busy keeping the insect population in check. Read story.

Monday, March 25, 2013

Save the Bees

While foraging for their own food, bees pollinate both native plants and those in the urban landscape, from fruits to flowers. Read story.

Monday, March 4, 2013

Spring Comes Early

Mid-February is when plants here really start to return from their brief period of dormancy. Read story.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Indoor Plants

Plants need to be nurtured in their natural habitats as well as our urban landscapes, but they can also improve our personal spaces. Read story.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Down and Dirty

Now is a good time to take stock of the state of the soil and make a plan to improve its fertility and water-holding capacity. Read story.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Botanic Garden Graduates First Class of Citizen Scientists

10-week course turns participants into stewards of the land. Read story.

Friday, February 1, 2013
event calendar sponsored by: