WEATHER »

Courts & Crime

Heated Debate Over Gang Injunction

Blank check, slippery slope, or another tool in toolbox? Read story.

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 4/2 – 4/8

Whiskey-drinking suspect 'chin-checks' assault victim; man flips table at Natural Cafe. Read story.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 3/25 – 4/1

Musician/drug dealer runs from officers; car thief nabbed on Calle Real. Read story.

Originally published 3:00 p.m., April 4, 2013
Updated 12:00 p.m., April 5, 2013

Vintner's Mysterious Death Ruled a Suicide

Christopher Marks was found with a single gunshot wound to the head on beach in September 2012. Read story.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Introducing The Independent's South Coast Crime Map

The interactive widget shows who, what, where, and when of recent arrests. Read story.

Monday, April 1, 2013

Robles Sentenced to Life in Prison Without Parole

Jury enters fourth day of deliberation in Ied murder trial. Read story.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 3/4 – 3/11

OnStar tracks down stolen truck; man harasses El Cielito patrons; another arrest at SBPD headquarters. Read story.

Friday, March 15, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 2/12 – 2/18

Police chase parolees, recover meth and weed, bust thieving vandals. Read story.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 2/5 – 2/11

Couples brawl; diners skip on bill at Denny's. Read story.

Friday, February 15, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 1/29 – 2/4

Plain clothes officer busts weed dealer; social media helps catch Macy's thief. Read story.

Friday, February 8, 2013

Santa Barbara Crime Blotter, 1/21 – 1/28

Drunk man arrested in police headquarters; meth-smoking dad accused of endangering kids. Read story.

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Adrian Robles Found Guilty

Convicted of first degree murder; will be sentenced to life without parole. Read story.

Originally published 12:30 p.m., December 17, 2012
Updated 5:00 p.m., December 17, 2012

S.B. Dems Oppose Gang Injunction

Crime stats show gang activity dropped this year. Read story.

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Stalker Sentenced to One Year in Jail

Violated restraining order and lurked outside ex-girlfriend's home. Read story.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Hendry’s Beach Murder Trial Begins

Adrian Robles stands accused of stabbing and killing Robert Simpson in April 2010. Read story.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012
event calendar sponsored by: