Gaviota Plan Coalescing

Advisory document includes homes, trails, fracking, incentive plans for ranchers and residents. Read story.

Thursday, September 8, 2016

S.B. Channelkeeper Creates Naples Reef Dive Map

Interactive guide opens protected underwater park to scuba divers. Read story.

Originally published 10:48 a.m., July 11, 2016
Updated 9:25 a.m., July 12, 2016

County Denies Naples Ownership Transfer

To the delight of enviros, Matt Osgood's bid goes nowhere. Read story.

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Naples Development Back on the Table?

Matt Osgood asks county to approve $44.5 million ownership transfer. Read story.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

'Mythical Being' Wants Naples

Chinese-American investor David Liu eying prized Gaviota property. Read story.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

UCSB Scientists Study Oceans Choked with Plastic

Eight million tons of waste enters the water every year. Read story.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Will Gaviota Coast Ranch Go Residential?

Decade-long debate over Las Varas Ranch hits Santa Barbara County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday. Read story.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Drill Baby Drill?

Federal oil lease bill passes House, goes to Senate. Read story.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Ship Versus Whale in Santa Barbara Channel

Many vessels agree to slow down as study reveals blue whale hub off San Miguel Island. Read story.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Teeing Off on Tranquillon Ridge

Jackson floats bill to ban drilling at Vandenberg. Read story.

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Calmer Seas Prevail in MPA Battle

A collaborative of stakeholders makes a joint trip and looks to the future. Read story.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Sweet Crude on the Seashore

The past, present, and future of Goleta's oceanfront oil facility. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Twelve Resource Projects to Watch

Rundown on ongoing and pending projects in Santa Barbara County and beyond. Read story.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

City Approves Highway 101 Building Buffer

Health and safety concerns were cited during the vote. Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Broken Pumps Lead to 175 Endangered Steelhead Deaths

In the past year, 175 endangered steelhead trout reportedly died in Hilton Creek, a tributary of the Santa Ynez River, when pumps operated by the federal Bureau of Reclamation failed to function properly. Read story.

Thursday, March 27, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: