WEATHER »

Voices

Hold Santa Barbara District Elections in 2016

Real election reform in Santa Barbara requires even-year elections. Read story.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Mass Deportation Targets Black and Latino Men

Racial and gender disparities in immigration law enforcement reflect deeper issues in this country. Read story.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

The Eastside Assessment Reaches Beyond Milpas

Light industry west to Salsipuedes would be affected, and other concerns. Read story.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Not-So-Friendly Dating

February is Teen Dating Violence Awareness month. Read story.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Give the Milpas BID a Chance

MCA counters Councilmember Murillo's assertions about the Eastside's Business Improvement District. Read story.

Saturday, January 17, 2015

A Regulatory Battle Royale

As new oil drilling projects are proposed, the county is quietly deciding what amount of GHG emissions is significant. Read story.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

McLuhan’s Message

Electronic media, thought Marshall McLuhan, would return humanity to the community and tribal aspect of civilization and help create the “global village.” Read story.

Monday, January 12, 2015

Latinos Are Human, Too

Racist remarks can promote misperception and intolerance. Read story.

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Santa Barbara's Peer-to-Peer Rental Market Comes of Age

Congratulations! You've joined the ranks of small business owners who pay taxes. Read story.

Monday, January 5, 2015

The Virtual College Education

Let’s face it — today, college diplomas are a dime a dozen. Read story.

Thursday, January 1, 2015

A World of Too Many Things

Older adults need to step aside, and filmmakers need to stop focusing on dystopia. Read story.

Monday, December 29, 2014

Homeless Youth Resources

The Runaway Homeless Youth and Trafficking Prevention Act could help the homeless YUT problem on State Street. Read story.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Mental Illness Requires Treatment, Not Incarceration

The U.S. population of mentally ill persons and society at large would benefit from services. Read story.

Monday, December 22, 2014

Highway Project Promises to Ruin City Traffic

The fact is that building the extra 101 lane, as proposed, will take all local road-improvement money for decades. Read story.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

World Plenary Talks Rumble and Stumble to Completion

As countries rich and poor debate, we hold our breath, waiting for an inadvertent decision that means game over. Read story.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: