Members of the Emerson String Quartet with Wu Han. At the Music
Academy of the West, Saturday, October 28.

Reviewed by James Hanley Donelan

Han1.jpgChamber music players usually wear
sensible shoes — the kind that say, “You might have to do a lot of
walking or standing, you never know, better safe than sorry.” Wu
Han’s bright red four-inch heels said it all. Nothing was safe
about her performance of the Brahms Piano Quartet in G Minor with
Philip Setzer, Eugene Drucker, and David Finckel in the second half
of the program. Every movement surprised us with impossibly fast
runs and startlingly quiet, lyrical moments followed by explosions
of huge chords. Brahms raised the roof of Abravanel Hall, bigger
and bolder than ever.

The three players from the Emerson Quartet (Lawrence Dutton,
their usual violist, was missing; violinist Eugene Drucker played
viola) began the concert with the Mozart Divertimento for String
Trio in E-flat, a deceptively titled work that runs nearly an hour,
although it seemed like only a few minutes. It’s hardly a light
piece, with six movements centered on an achingly beautiful
“Andante,” including two menuettos of strikingly different
character. The trio played the first “Menuetto” with gentle thought
and grace, while the second skipped along to bouncing bows. The
finale rollicked along, full of witty phrases and clever ideas,
until the work’s thundering close.

But Brahms stole the show. Each movement had something daring
and outrageous in it — a crescendo that rose like water from a
burst dam, a quick run that darted from cello to piano to viola to
violin, or a sforzando that made you look at the players to see
what was going on. What you saw at that moment was the sheer glee
of a conspiracy: all four players looking at each other with impish
grins, ready for their next bold move. The finale, appropriately
enough, was a rondo based on four themes in the gypsy style. The
players took these melodies and ran with them, dancing wildly as
they went — that’s what red shoes are for. After two curtain calls,
they came back and played the “Andante” from Brahms’s C Minor Piano
Quartet and broke our hearts again, but in just the right way.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.