WEATHER »

Voices

About the Thomas Fire Mud on the Beach

Heal the Ocean asks all ocean lovers to support the agencies working hard to get us out of this mess. Read story.

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Santa Barbara Planning Commissioner Questions Target Location

Why is the city squeezing a much-wanted mega-store into the tiny Galleria? Read story.

Monday, January 8, 2018

When Machine Learning Isn’t Smart

As Google, Apple and others race into the 'artificial intelligence' future, we still haven’t addressed basic safety questions. Read story.

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Taking Heart from the Thomas Fire Fight

The flames were catastrophic, but the firefighter and community warmth brought hope. Read story.

Sunday, December 31, 2017

The Bixby Backstory

How the Cojo Jalama Ranch was saved from development. Read story.

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Welcome to the Anthropocene

Encased in smoke, I suck up power with internet and TV running alongside an air purifier that hasn’t seen a break in over a week. Read story.

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

How Many Cars Do You See?

Counting helps young brains develop. Read story.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Easing Children’s Fears as Fires Rage

The turmoil surrounding a crisis like the Thomas Fire can affect children significantly. Read story.

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Net Neutrality Is Internet Equality for All

The web as we know it is under attack, but it is not too late to stop it. Read story.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Thinking Bigger than the Net Neutrality Debate

Internet access should be recognized as a utility, not a market. Read story.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Gun Violence Continues to Affect Santa Barbara

And Congress wants universal concealed-carry laws. Read story.

Monday, December 11, 2017

Waste Not

In the United States, an astonishing 40 percent of our food is wasted, and most of the waste goes to the landfill. Read story.

Friday, December 8, 2017

What the Heck Is Net Neutrality?

And why does it matter? Read story.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

How to Get Ready for a Fire

Carpinteria native Alison Crowe just had to do it in Napa. Read story.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

An Architectural Poke in the Eye

A critique of Santa Barbara City College’s West Campus Read story.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: