WEATHER »

Green Your Crib

Refrigerators and Climate Change

HFCs and how coolants are changing our atmosphere. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Backyard ‘Black Gold’

The why and how of composting in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

California Legalizes Granny Flats

‘Accessory dwelling units’ can be attached or separate from the main house. Read story.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Going Green: Sunshine-Powered Heat Pumps

How this enhanced technology will enable all-electric homes in the near future. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Going Green: Urban Air Conditioning?

What Santa Barbara can learn from Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti’s effort to reduce city heat. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Going Green: More Simple Cooling Strategies

Save further energy and money with the stack effect, electric fans, and more.by Dennis Allen Read story.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Going Green: Natural Cooling Strategies

Using natural cooling techniques saves energy and money. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Going Green: Batteries for Off-Grid Homes

Here are some pros and cons of using lithium-ion and lead-acid batteries. Read story.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Boost Clean Energy by Accurately Pricing Electricity

Using time-of-use pricing will conserve energy and produce more savings than charging a flat rate. Read story.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Going Green: Bricks and Microbes

Manufacturing companies are looking for ways to make — and grow — a greener brick. Read story.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Going Green: The Virtues of City Trees

Street trees may be one of the best investments a city can make. Read story.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Going Green: Walkability — The Key to Urban Vitality, Wealth

Location and transportation choices overshadow other factors for reducing carbon impact. Read story.

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Going Green: Disaster-Resilient Design

Architects san next big trend is building to withstand fires, floods, and more. Read story.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Green Your Crib: Our Ocean — from Dump to Salvation?

Three-dimensional ocean farming harvests kelp for food, fertilizer, and biofuel. Read story.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Green Your Crib: New Efficiency Standards for Electronic Chargers

New external power supplies will lead to substantial savings and decrease carbon pollution. Read story.

Wednesday, April 13, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: