WEATHER »

Green Your Crib

Building with Wood

Engineered laminated wood panels are transforming high-rise construction while benefiting the planet. Read story.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Water-Saving Tip of the Week

With Santa Barbara in severe drought, the city is giving out free efficient sprinkler nozzles. Read story.

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Many Benefits from Building Bikeways

A great way for Santa Barbara to cut greenhouse gases and make our city more livable Read story.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Coastal Protection? Nature Does It Best

With fiercer storms and growing challenges from climate change, California can get help from nature’s coastal systems. Read story.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Biomimicry: Designing Using Nature as Model

You need never clean your windows or solar panels again. Read story.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Refrigerators and Climate Change

HFCs and how coolants are changing our atmosphere. Read story.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Backyard ‘Black Gold’

The why and how of composting in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

California Legalizes Granny Flats

‘Accessory dwelling units’ can be attached or separate from the main house. Read story.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Going Green: Sunshine-Powered Heat Pumps

How this enhanced technology will enable all-electric homes in the near future. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Going Green: Urban Air Conditioning?

What Santa Barbara can learn from Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti’s effort to reduce city heat. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Going Green: More Simple Cooling Strategies

Save further energy and money with the stack effect, electric fans, and more.by Dennis Allen Read story.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Going Green: Natural Cooling Strategies

Using natural cooling techniques saves energy and money. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Going Green: Batteries for Off-Grid Homes

Here are some pros and cons of using lithium-ion and lead-acid batteries. Read story.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Boost Clean Energy by Accurately Pricing Electricity

Using time-of-use pricing will conserve energy and produce more savings than charging a flat rate. Read story.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Going Green: Bricks and Microbes

Manufacturing companies are looking for ways to make — and grow — a greener brick. Read story.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: