WEATHER »

Voices

UCSB’S Bonfire of the Vanities

Structural problems with UC Endowment halves comparative earnings. Read story.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Not a Fan of the VBAC Ban

Lift the block of vaginal birth after cesarean in Santa Barbara. Read story.

Monday, March 13, 2017

What Is Your Automation Policy, Mr. President?

A 'bot may be a more potent job-killer than free trade or immigration. Read story.

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Survival and Rescue Work Continues at Fukushima

Counting the human and animal toll six years after the nuclear meltdown. Read story.

Friday, March 10, 2017

The Push for Equality Continues

International Women’s Day focuses resolve both here and abroad. Read story.

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Opinion: News-Press Mess — Finally, a Measure of Justice

Wendy McCaw may owe cash for mistreating her newsroom. Read story.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

You Thought Health Care Was Complicated?

The repercussions of deporting 11 million are too. Read story.

Sunday, March 5, 2017

Motivational Speaking or Double Talk?

Trump stopped short of promising the moon, but gave no way of funding any of it. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Success in the 21st Century

The challenges Goleta faces require improvements now. Read story.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Trump Attacks Transgender Students

Rescinds safety protections; Pride fights back. Read story.

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

To Serve Man (and Woman)

Is food waste a problem? It should not be! Read story.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Stop the Density Housing Experiment

AUD program outprices the workforce it is meant to serve. Read story.

Monday, February 27, 2017

How Free Is Free Speech?

Whenever a group has asserted itself as an arbiter of permissible speech, it has abused that power. Read story.

Sunday, February 26, 2017

John Steinbeck’s Roadmap for Resistance

In the days of Trump, The Moon Is Down rises to relevance again. Read story.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

The Misrepresentation of Dissent

Lowball estimates of crowd size diminish the issues being protested. Read story.

Saturday, February 18, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: