WEATHER »

Voices

A Modest Proposal to Revive State Street

Why don’t we sentient human beings conspire to reclaim that most central strip of our community? Read story.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Paris Is Unstoppable

Despite White House, international and state efforts to reduce greenhouse gases continue. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Former President Obama on Paris Accord

The nations that remain in the Paris Agreement will be the nations that reap the benefits in jobs and industries created. Read story.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Welcome to Hanoi 2005

Decades later, a return to Vietnam brings unexpected gratitude to a U.S. veteran. Read story.

Monday, May 29, 2017

Why Old 'Spanish' Days?

A broader look at the events that Fiesta celebrates. Read story.

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Trump's Censorship of Science

Climate change webpage disappears from EPA; being 'updated.' Read story.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Sisyphus in Modern Times

A new way to look at rolling the stone. Read story.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Create Engaged Citizens with a Positive Public Education

We can heal the U.S. with learning as a way of life. Read story.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Swimming Upstream in the D.C. Swamp

A fight for education in the hallways and offices of Congress. Read story.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

When the College App Comes Back 'Deferred'

How to navigate your next steps. Read story.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Yes, March for the Climate

But what actions will affect this defining issue of human history? Read story.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Dark Thoughts on a Dark Matter

Trump's sacking of FBI Director James Comey, the first 100 Days debacles, and Russia issues have excited many to think the end of his incumbency is almost certain. But ... Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Breathless, in a Bad Kind of Way

The City of Santa Barbara passed its smoking ordinance, and for health's sake, I am sincerely grateful. Read story.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Concerns Remain over Wild Horse Support in Federal Budget

Congress indicates support, but the devil is in the details. Read story.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

California's Gun Laws Work

'I have a right not to be shot,' answers those who take the Second. Read story.

Friday, May 5, 2017
event calendar sponsored by: