WEATHER »

Voices

The Room Where It Happens

Santa Barbara Women’s Political Committee celebrates 30 years of gaining elected officials. Read story.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Mainstream Media Is So Left

From gun rights to immigration, liberals focus on one side of the issue. Read story.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Water, Power, and High-Speed Rail

Shading selected portions of California's canals with photovoltaic generators is a perfect confluence of needs. Read story.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Still Very White and Male

Film Fest's Variety Artisan Awards lacked the spice of life. Read story.

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Campus Cops Don’t Make Everyone Safer

They must be trained in racial bias to safeguard all students. Read story.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Santa Barbara Approves Oil Pipeline Despite Climate Concerns

Board of Supervisors: What happened to standing up to big oil? Read story.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Skin Irritants in the Water

Some Goleta residents complain of skin, eye, and lung irritation. Read story.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Montecito Needs Our Support

Montecito should be less famous for its standard of living and more for its standard of giving. Read story.

Friday, February 9, 2018

Quit Calling Santa Barbara 'Paradise'

After Mother Nature has leveled the playing field, will we pay attention? Read story.

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Fifty-Year Offshore Oil Fight Continues

Tell Trump what you think on Thursday in Sacramento, says Sen. Feinstein Read story.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

The Chains of Immigration

The writer firmly believes that respect will eventually trump intolerance. Read story.

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Backfires and Boulders in Our Subconscious

Many of us are recovering collectively from the devastation of this natural disaster. Read story.

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Healing a Community

An example from Montecito Fire on dealing with tragedy. Read story.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Santa Barbara Learns About the Train

Living amid a commuter culture disruption Read story.

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Lompoc Overturns Prohibition Again

As in 1933 for alcohol, temperance came to an end for marijuana in 2018. Read story.

Saturday, January 20, 2018
event calendar sponsored by: