WEATHER »

Sports - John Zant

UCSB Baseball Plays Hard Ball

Off to a 2-4 start in the conference, the Gauchos have a hill to climb to secure a spot in the NCAA Tournament. Read story.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Remembering Nick Johnson

An after-effect of Nick’s death is bringing attention to the danger of underwater swimming. Read story.

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Sports: S.B. High Girls Teams Are Going Places

This weekend, two SBHS teams are poised to go as high and as far as they can possibly go: CIF State Finals and the USA Nationals. Read story.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

UCSB Ups and Downs

Gaucho men’s basketball is defeated while men’s baseball owns the field. Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Dons Keep Rolling

S.B. High heads to State Girls Basketball Championships. Read story.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Sports: A Fight to the End

For UCSB men’s basketball in the Big West, March Madness has already arrived. Read story.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Sports: High School Basketball

One game short of a trip to the CIF finals, the varsity boys basketball teams of S.B. High and Laguna Blanca School conclude their 2013-14 seasons. Read story.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Sports: High School Soccer Heats Up

Perhaps it was the collective will of the Dons that produced their 1-0 victory in the opening round of the CIF Southern Section Division 1 soccer play-offs last Thursday. Read story.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Sports Roundup

John Zant gives the scoop on high school water polo, college baseball, and more. Read story.

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Winter Sports Enter Survival Phase

High school teams will enter the survival phase of winter sports — the CIF Southern Section play-offs in basketball, soccer, and girls water polo. Read story.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Sports: A Bit of Sochi in S.B.

Ice and snow were nowhere to be seen, but that did not stop Erin Pac Blumert and Peter Blumert from bringing the Winter Olympics to Santa Barbara. Read story.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Marathon Swimmer Evan Morrison Featured in Documentary Driven

Evan Morrison, a former competitor for Dos Pueblos High, is the centerpiece of the documentary film, Driven: A Glimpse Inside the World of Marathon Swimming. Read story.

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Sports: The Page Youth Center

Executive director Bob Yost calls the PYC’s grounds on Hollister Avenue “an island of sanity and love.” Read story.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Sports Roundup

John Zant talks UCSB men’s basketball, volleyball, and the upcoming Rincon Classic. Read story.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Sports: Gaucho Volleyball

UCSB men’s team starts the season with eyes on becoming NCAA champs this year. Read story.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: