WEATHER »

Travel

Holiday Stopovers

The Ayres Hotel Chino Hills is the best bet in this area or anywhere close to here. Read story.

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Fred Couples at the Straight Down Fall Classic

An opportunity to see the pros play at San Luis Obispo Country Club. Read story.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

River Ridge and More in Oxnard

A golf explosion has engulfed the Oxnard/Ventura area, and public course golfers are the beneficiaries. Read story.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

The grand chalet near Lake Tahoe's North Shore is secluded but features great summertime golf and ski-in/ski-out convenience in the winter. Read story.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

The Oaks at Ojai

Husband and wife spend a spa weekend toning up, eating right, and relaxing. Health and Consideration Read story.

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Canoeing Mono Lake

Ancient Mono Lake was the stately body of water on which we chose to christen a spiffy new green polyethylene canoe with backrests. Read story.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Extraordinary Golf

Original golf instruction method; Mattei's hosts terroir harvest celebration. Read story.

Monday, September 29, 2014

Football with Style

If you like football, San Jose is now a hub of activity with the San Francisco 49ers right next door and great college football very close. Read story.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Ponte Vineyard Inn

The Temecula region features a winery with fine dining and nearby golf. Read story.

Monday, September 1, 2014

Reno

Things are good here, and it shows in the opulent new casinos and restaurants that now adorn the old silver mining hub. Read story.

Friday, August 22, 2014

Cypress Ridge in Arroyo Grande

Reaching Cypress Ridge by train (and car) would be an even more adventurous path that would take you by beach areas only known to surfers. Read story.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

World Golf Village and Caddyshack

Slammer and Squire and King and Bear courses can be found in St. Augustine. Read story.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Carmel Valley Ranch

“The Ranch,” as locals call it, is actually a private club set on 500 acres with an elegant lodge inside its gates. Read story.

Friday, July 11, 2014

Monarch Dunes for the Day

A nearby golf getaway that includes a fine spa. Read story.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Vacation Rental Trend
Takes Root in Santa Barbara

Austin-based TurnKey expands to the South Coast market. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: