Stone Roshell: Lessons Learned from the Pit

It was the second night of the school play. Read story.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Yes, Baby, Yes! Affirmative Consent Is Hot

Here’s why new anti-assault policies on campuses are sexy as hell. Read story.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Love Makes You Fat. Here’s Proof.

Our columnist explains why married people are heavier than singles. Read story.

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Tattooing My Teen in Vegas

Why I arranged a trip to Nevada so my 16-year-old could permanently ink his arm. Read story.

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Click, Cluck Goes the Online Shame Game

Who'll be humiliated next? Is it you? Read story.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Tongs for Nothing: My (Latest) Parenting Failure

Our columnist’s last-minute lessons for out-the-door teens. Read story.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Can Transgender Folks Futz with Pronouns?

Our columnist wrestles with requests for non-binary, ungrammatical words. Read story.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Crude Awakening: When the $#!% Hits the Sand

When an oil spill disaster messes with our columnist’s weekly shoreline sunset. Read story.

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Hot for the Dad Bod?

Our columnist explains how CollegeDadBods reveals this summer’s best beach look. Read story.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Top 10 Things Mel Brooks Taught Us Last Night

King of parody puts on the ritz for UCSB Arts & Lectures at Montecito Country Club. Read story.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Fine, Mom: You Were Right

Columnist comes to terms with her mom’s sage advice, just in time for Mother’s Day. Read story.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Go Fund Yourself

Why I won’t be helping you start your modeling career, and other crowdfunding boo-boos. Read story.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

The Cacophony of Corporate Squawk

Starshine versus the evils of nonsense business speak. Read story.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Girl to Girl with Piper Kerman, Ex-Con

Starshine and the author of Orange is the New Black talk about the unjust correctional system. Read story.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Bedtime: An Emotional Odyssey

The nightly highs and lows of the tucking-in ritual. Read story.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: