WEATHER »

Starshine

13 Reasons Why Parenting Is Frightening

Wisdom comes with age … but so does fear. Read story.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

More Women Are Running — For Office

Involvement is way up in the wake of Trump. Here's why. Read story.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

A Plea for a Better Facebook Quiz

…because come on. Read story.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

TTYL, College Kid of Mine

The joys of keeping in touch by text with your out-of-state son. Read story.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Trump Plump: Postelection Stress Eating Is a Thing

Our columnist explains why we’re putting on pounds because of The Donald. Read story.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Parenting Under a Toddler-in-Chief

Turn President Trump’s immature antics into lessons for your kids. Read story.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Shout Your Abortion

… because whispering it isn’t working. Read story.

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Fake News: The ‘Post-Truth’ Pact

Our columnist pledges to help reverse America’s fact-free trend. Read story.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Why Uber Drivers Hate You

Our columnist dives into what your favorite car service thinks about its clients. Read story.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

So … That Happened. What Now?

Starshine suffers through the Seven stages of WTF?! Read story.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

A Presidential Plea from a Friend

Our columnist says to be a decent human and hear them out. Read story.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Screenagers: Fearing the Effects of Tech Time

UCSB Arts & Lectures is showing a film about how our digital era affects children on October 16. Read story.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Crushing on Mommy Tonk

Our columnist finds kindred spirits in profane comedy musical duo. Read story.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Got Your 
Kaepernickers in a Twist?

What the quarterback's controversial sit should stand for, in America and the NFL. Read story.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

One Fatal Rx, Room for Cream?

Why, in option-obsessed nation, do we still have so few end-of-life choices? Read story.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: