WEATHER »

Sports - John Zant

Magic Johnson’s Story

The legendary Laker tells the story of his life and reveals how to make a difference in the world. Read story.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Sports Musings

John Zant on the dangers of riding a bike, plus L.A.’s teams and rugby in S.B. Read story.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Bill Pintard Talks MLB

Foresters coach makes Major League Baseball post-season predictions. Read story.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Football Under Fire

Former newspaper reporter Steve Almond has become so thoroughly disillusioned by the unchecked violence of the game that he has penned a book, Against Football: One Fan's Reluctant Manifesto. Read story.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

History of S.B. Athletic Round Table

In September 1970, the organization held its first Monday press luncheon at Harry’s Plaza Café. Read story.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Fresh Start for UCSB Soccer

By October, Coach Tim Vom Steeg hopes to see a battle-tested team that converts the forays of flashy freshmen into goals. Read story.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

High School Fall Football

The Dons, Chargers, and Royals hit the gridiron for week zero. Read story.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

S.B. Trail Racing

S.B. is home to two diabolical running events taking place in August. Read story.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

UCSB Assistant Athletics Director Retires

Larry James bids adieu to his post after 30 years with the Gauchos. Read story.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Foresters Win NBC Championship

S.B.’s baseball team returns from Kansas with another national title. Read story.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Gaucho’s Athletic Director Heads North

After six years at UCSB, Mark Massari accepts a position as deputy director of athletics at Oregon State. Read story.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Muscle Beach Memories

Santa Barbaran Steve Morris honors the iconic weight-lifting hot spot with a garage full of memorabilia. Read story.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Sports: S.B. Foresters

The S.B. Foresters Have the California Collegiate League’s Best Record for the 18th Time in 20 Years. Read story.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Sports: Sam Cathcart Turns 90

S.B. football coach reminisced about his life in sports and the time he faced death and destruction in World War II. Read story.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Sports: Peak Performances

S.B. Track Club stars score big in the heptathlon and decathlon at the U.S.A. Track & Field Championships. Read story.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: