UCSB announced on 10/25 that five of its academics were among the 471 awarded fellowships by the American Association for the Advancement of Science this year. Those named include Guillermo Bazan, for feats in materials with electro-optical potential; Barbara Herr Harthorn, for promotion of social awareness of risks and benefits of new technology; Ken Macdonald, for research in ocean tectonics; John Melack, for discoveries in biogeochemical cycles in certain geographical areas; and Jeffrey Richman, for experiments in the physics of quarks and antimatter.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.