Jackson Oil Spill Bills Pass Assembly Committee

Two bills authored by Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson in response to the Refugio Oil Spill passed out of the Assembly Governmental Organization Committee this week. SB 295 reinstates the State Fire Marshal’s role of inspecting nationally regulated oil pipelines and calls for yearly inspections. SB 414, or the Rapid Oil Spill Response Act, would create an enhanced program for local fishers to become paid responders, prohibit the use of toxic chemicals during cleanups, and require Office of Spill Prevention and Response officials to study more cutting-edge oil response technology. Both bills now head to the Assembly Appropriations Committee.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.