For the first time, the Santa Barbara International Film Festival will award not one, but three actors with its prestigious American Riviera Award: Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, and Rachel McAdams. The 31st annual Fest, held from February 3 to February 13 of next year, will recognize all three actors for their contributions to American cinema both individually and collectively. The award ceremony will be held at the Arlington Theatre and will finish with a screening of the honorees’ recent, critically-acclaimed collaboration in Tom McCarthy’s searing new drama, Spotlight.

“Michael, Mark and Rachel are three of the finest actors in the business” Festival Director Roger Durling said. “They are artists in the truest sense of the word who continue to surprise and inspire audiences with their talent.”

Past recipients of the award have included Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke (2015), Robert Redford (2014), Quentin Tarantino (2013) and Martin Scorsese (2012), Annette Bening (2011), Sandra Bullock (2010), Mickey Rourke (2009), Tommy Lee Jones (2008), Forrest Whitaker (2007), Philip Seymour Hoffman (2006), Kevin Bacon (2005) and Diane Lane (2004).


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.