WEATHER »

Film Reviews

“Alien: Covenant’

This prequel has nothing left to hide, but does offer legitimate spookiness. Read story.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

‘Lost City of Z’ Is Subtly Powerful

The slow-paced thought-provoker examines Amazonian exploration. Read story.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

‘Colossal’

Poignant film explores the nature of evil. Read story.

Monday, April 24, 2017

‘Ghost In the Shell’ Fails Beloved Japanese Franchise

Scarlett Johansson’s stilted delivery of mostly dumb dialogue never rings true. Read story.

Thursday, April 13, 2017

‘Cradle of Champions’ at SBIFF

Golden Gloves documentary celebrates spirit of New York City Read story.

Friday, February 17, 2017

SBIFF Honors Warren Beatty

The actor/director/producer receives the Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film. Read story.

Friday, December 2, 2016

‘The Darkness’ Rides a Scary-Movie Renaissance

Bloodletting and bad taste make up today’s film noir. Read story.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Pollock Theater’s Script to Screen Hosted ‘Jaws’

Screenwriter Carl Gottlieb shares biting anecdotes. Read story.

Monday, April 18, 2016

‘Batman v. Superman’

Why are superheroes fighting one another? Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

‘Embrace of the Serpent’ Infiltrates Your Dreams

Columbian Director Ciro Guerra has a vision to impart in this slow, black-and white-tour of the Amazon River basin. Read story.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

‘The Club’ Confronts Church Abuses

The film is set around a house of penance for priests guilty of molestation. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

‘West of the West’ Is a Human History

This Santa Barbara-brewed documentary is best one-stop source for understanding the Channel Islands. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

‘Eddie the Eagle’ Falls Short

Taron Egerton and Hugh Jackman star in this biopic of a British ski jumper. Read story.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

‘The Lady in the Van’ Is a Quirky Meditation

Maggie Smith stars in this funny investigation into the nature of caring. Read story.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

‘Zoolander 2’: A Fashion Flop

Sequel retreads same territory to unfunny effect. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2016
event calendar sponsored by: