WEATHER »

Film Reviews

Pollock Theater’s Script to Screen Hosted ‘Jaws’

Screenwriter Carl Gottlieb shares biting anecdotes. Read story.

Monday, April 18, 2016

‘Batman v. Superman’

Why are superheroes fighting one another? Read story.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

‘Embrace of the Serpent’ Infiltrates Your Dreams

Columbian Director Ciro Guerra has a vision to impart in this slow, black-and white-tour of the Amazon River basin. Read story.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

‘The Club’ Confronts Church Abuses

The film is set around a house of penance for priests guilty of molestation. Read story.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

‘West of the West’ Is a Human History

This Santa Barbara-brewed documentary is best one-stop source for understanding the Channel Islands. Read story.

Monday, March 7, 2016

‘Eddie the Eagle’ Falls Short

Taron Egerton and Hugh Jackman star in this biopic of a British ski jumper. Read story.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

‘The Lady in the Van’ Is a Quirky Meditation

Maggie Smith stars in this funny investigation into the nature of caring. Read story.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

‘Zoolander 2’: A Fashion Flop

Sequel retreads same territory to unfunny effect. Read story.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

‘Hail, Caesar!’ Is Perfect Fun

George Clooney stars in latest Coen brothers flick about a kidnapped movie idol. Read story.

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

‘Jane Got a Gun’ Is Plain-Jane

The Western seems scared of its own blue shadows on the trail. Read story.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

‘Anomalisa’ Breaks the Rules

Charlie Kaufman’s latest film turns stop animation on its head. Read story.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

‘13 Hours’ Is Not What You Imagine

Michael Bay brings the Benghazi attacks to a theater near you. Read story.

Thursday, January 21, 2016

‘The Revenant’ Is Slow-Paced Suffering

Though cinematically beautiful, the film is too much slow-paced suffering. Read story.

Wednesday, January 13, 2016

‘Joy’ a Joy to Watch

The movie doesn’t quite live up to the joys of “Silver Linings Playbook” or “American Hustle,” but it has subtle joys of its own. Read story.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

‘The Danish Girl’ Delicate, Not Daring

This true-life transgender romance is sweet but slightly superficial. Read story.

Thursday, December 24, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: