WEATHER »

Pedal On

Howard Booth has worked in education, the arts, and business for over 30 years. He bikes around Santa Barbara every day for errands, meetings, and pleasure.

Andie Bridges lives in Goleta with her husband, Dan, and their 2-year-old son, Alden. When not making macaroni art or eating Play-Doh, the Bridges can be found pedaling around town on adventures big and small. As a family, they strive to use the car less and pedal more.

Erika Lindemann was born and raised in Santa Barbara. and returned home after college to work in bicycle planning and promoting sustainable transportation. She now works for the Wilderness Youth Project but remains active in the bicycling community as an advocate and aficionado.

Pedaling Fun in 2016

Here's a calendar of bike-related events for the coming year. Read story.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Bike Highways

Miles of smooth pavement are more than a dream. Read story.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Pedaling Your Way to Living Cheaply in Paradise

Opting for a bicycle instead of a car can save thousands every year. Read story.

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Who Bikes in Santa Barbara?

A multimedia look at some of the cyclists in our community. Read story.

Monday, December 21, 2015

Speak Now About Bicycle Master Plan

Take Micheltorena Street as a case in point for the need for a crosstown bike lane. Read story.

Monday, December 7, 2015

Every Lane Is a Bike Lane

On narrow stretches of road, bikes may use the full traffic lane. Read story.

Monday, November 23, 2015

City Writes Deeply Disappointing Bike Master Plan

The plan becomes silent when it needs to speak the loudest. Read story.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Baby’s First Ride

Even the youngest kids get a kick out of pedal-powered transit. Read story.

Monday, October 26, 2015

Counting Bicyclists

The latest numbers and why we need to do it right. Read story.

Monday, October 12, 2015

Family Bike Night

Vieja Valley event teaches kids and parents bike safety. Read story.

Monday, September 28, 2015

Cycling Through an El Niño

Adequate rain gear can keep you biking despite some rain. Read story.

Monday, September 14, 2015

Wigg Party Protests Stops

San Francisco group says citations are a waste of resources. Read story.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

The 'Fix-It-Yourself' Cyclist

A handful of essential tools to keep you pedaling. Read story.

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Treading Lightly

The biggest environmental impact of mountain biking may be inspiring more people to care. Read story.

Monday, August 3, 2015

Business Benefits from Cycling

Pedaling is good for our community. Read story.

Monday, July 20, 2015
event calendar sponsored by: