WEATHER »

Pedal On

Howard Booth has worked in education, the arts, and business for over 30 years. He bikes around Santa Barbara every day for errands, meetings, and pleasure.

Andie Bridges lives in Goleta with her husband, Dan, and their 2-year-old son, Alden. When not making macaroni art or eating Play-Doh, the Bridges can be found pedaling around town on adventures big and small. As a family, they strive to use the car less and pedal more.

Erika Lindemann was born and raised in Santa Barbara. and returned home after college to work in bicycle planning and promoting sustainable transportation. She now works for the Wilderness Youth Project but remains active in the bicycling community as an advocate and aficionado.

SoCal Hot Rod Pedaling

Pedal On remembers Ralph Fertig and some specialties coming from the Bicycle Coalition he founded. Read story.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Summer Cycling Camp

Weeklong camp helps people with special needs learn to ride. Read story.

Monday, July 14, 2014

Parking a Bike in S.B.

City hopes to add bike corrals and another Bikestation. Read story.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

A Passion for Pedaling

Despite the difficulties, most biking parents want to share the sport with their children. Read story.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Pedaling with Wings

Women are the new cycling majority and make up 60 percent of bicycle owners ages 17-28. Read story.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Shared Wheels

Many cities are beginning to implement bike sharing as part of their overall transportation plans. Read story.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Getting into Shape

If you're done tuning up your bike, it’s a good time to think about tuning up your body. Read story.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Bike Challenge 2014

Santa Barbara Traffic Solutions host its 10th annual Bike Challenge this May to encourage residents to ride bicycles for transportation for a good cause. Read story.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

While Spring Cleaning, Thoughts Turn To …

There can be a great sense of satisfaction from maintaining your own bike. Read story.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Pedaling While Pregnant

I’m 24 weeks pregnant, I’m loving biking as much as ever, and I’m not alone. Read story.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Sharing the Path

Making the bike path experience a pleasant one; saddlebag tips. Read story.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

The Fixie Phenomenon

Fixed-gear bikes take some getting used to, but many love them. Read story.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Racing Santa Barbara

Competitive biking is alive and well all over our county. Read story.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Bike Commuters

In the last decade, bike commuting numbers have nearly doubled within Santa Barbara. Read story.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Learning-to-Pedal Memories

Aligning his desktop meant Howard discovered some unfinished business. Read story.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014
event calendar sponsored by: