Spouting an unstable breed of homemade experimentalism, SWAPS features Ed Rodriguez and John Dieterich of Deerhoof, Ches Smith of Xiu Xiu / Secret Chiefs 3, and Steve Touchton of XBXRX.

Limited to just 438 hand-numbered 10″ records on mint green vinyl, SWAPS is a dark, asymmetrical fever-dream of vibraphones and feedback. The album surges and spins in every direction, while remaining hypnotically engaging throughout.

The self-titled SWAPS endeavor consists of two pieces of music: “Pair-Bonds,”the through composed A-Side of the record, and “Aether Defects,” the B-Side culled from a particularly ferocious improvised session in Oakland. The erratic rhythms, tonality and structure of these pieces will please fans of far left-field experiments and truly adventurous works of art.

SWAPS will be released on September 13 and can be ordered now on the Joyful Noise website.

Track listing:

1. Pair Bonds

2. Aether Defects


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.