SBIFF Welcomes 13+ Oscar Nominees to the 28th Fest

More to be Announced

“We’re extremely proud to be able to host all of these nominees at SBIFF. Congrats to all of them, and Santa Barbara’s so grateful they will be joining us soon,” commented SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling.

Lincoln emerged as the film with the most nominations receiving 12 in all, including Best Actor for SBIFF’s Montecito Award honoree Daniel Day-Lewis, who received his 5th nomination, winning twice.

This year’s Modern Master Award recipient, Ben Affleck, received his second nomination with a Best Picture nomination for Argo. Jennifer Lawrence, who will be honored for Outstanding Performer of the Year at SBIFF, also received her second Academy Award nomination for her performance in Silver Linings Playbook.

Cinema Vanguard Award recipient Amy Adams received her fourth Academy Award nomination for her role in The Master, and Virtuoso Quvenzhané Wallis received her first nomination for her performance in Beasts of the Southern Wild, making her the youngest Oscar nominee in history.

SBIFF will also feature four of the five Animated Feature nominees for AppleBox: ParaNorman, Brave, Frankenweenie and Wreck-It Ralph.

Additional festival attendees/films that received nominations include Foreign Language Film nominees Chile’s No, directed by Pablo Terraín, and Norway’s Kon-Tiki, directed by Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg, as well as Live Action Short Film nominee Buzkashi Boys and Animated Short film Head over Heels.

The number of nominees will continue to grow with the upcoming announcement of those participating in the panels, which will feature nominated Directors, Writers and Producers, as well as some of the nominated feature and short films.

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival, presented by, takes place Thursday, January 24 through Sunday, February 3. For information, log onto


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.