Figueroa Mountain Brewing Company claimed 5 medals at the prestigious 2013 Great American Beer Festival (GABF) competition. 2 Gold Medals, and 3 Silvers. Presented by the Brewers Association, GABF is the largest national beer competition that recognizes the most outstanding beers produced in the United States. The top three winners in the competition’s 84 beer-style categories were announced October 13 at the Great American Beer Festival awards ceremony held at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colorado.

“It is an unbelievable honor to have won these awards” said Jaime Dietenhofer, Founder and President of Figueroa Mountain Brewing Company. “To be recognized alongside so many other great breweries makes all the hard work worth it, and we owe it to our head brew master AJ Stoll and his stellar brewing team.”

Figueroa Mountain Brewing Co. was recognized for Davy Brown Ale (Gold- American Brown Ale), Stagecoach Stout (Gold- Oatmeal Stout), Surfliner Lager (Silver-Kellerbier), Irish Stout (Silver-Irish Stout), and Oktoberfest (Silver-Oktoberfest). Figueroa Mountain Brewing Co. also won medals in their two previous trips to the festival (2011 and 2012). The brewing company was started by the father and son team of Jim and Jaime Dietenhofer in 2010, and now have a location in Buellton and Santa Barbara.

“Coming to an event like this gives you a boost of enthusiasm, and makes you want to continue to improve,” said AJ Stoll Head Brew Master, “We can’t wait to get back to the brewery and start concocting more styles for our patrons to enjoy.”

The 2013 GABF competition winners were selected by an international panel of 201 expert judges from the record number of 4,809 entries received from 745 U.S. breweries.

“The Great American Beer Festival brings together the most talented brewers from around the country to show what they can do,” said Chris Swersey, competition director. “Taking home a medal at this premier beer competition is truly a symbol of brewing excellence.”

For more GABF competition information, including the 2013 winners list and photos, visit


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.