Past president Janet McCann, President Mindy Denson, VP Maribel Jarchow | Credit: Gail Arnold

On December 4, the Lobero Associates held their annual Holiday Tea at the Biltmore. It’s a festive celebration for the women’s auxiliary group and a chance for members to introduce friends to the group, which raises funds and awareness for the Lobero Theatre and has social outings throughout the year.

The 65 attendees — Associates, their guests, staff, and boardmembers – mingled in the elegant El Mar Room at the Biltmore, which was decked out with a lovely holiday tree and decorations. Fredrik Rosvall played holiday tunes on piano, and there was an endless array of decadent treats, including brown butter pecan scones and eggnog cream puffs.  A large table was covered with donated gifts for children at CALM.

During the short program, Associates President Mindy Denson warmly welcomed members. Lobero Theatre Executive Director David Asbell and Director of Development Brandon Mowery both thanked the Associates for their significant support — more than $1 million over 47 years.

Through dues and their annual Hats Off Luncheon, the Associates raise funds for the theater. The Associates funded the patio renovation, tent and furniture purchases, a new ticketing system, and a Steinway piano, and contributed to the renovation of the women’s restroom.  This year’s fundraising is earmarked for a new curtain. The Associates also support the theater’s youth outreach programs.  

While the focus of the Associates is on raising funds and awareness for the theater, this friendly group of 73 members also has social outings throughout the year — attending Lobero performances and off-site activities. For info about joining, contact Joan Crossland at

Event Co-Chair Leslie Haight, Executive Director David Asbell, and Event Co-Chair Annie Williams
Lisa Amador and Director of Planned Giving Jim Dougherty
Marcia Ribeiro, Director of Development Brandon Mowery, and Donor Relations & Special Events Staff Sheila Caldwell
Recording Secretary Margaret Slater, past president Emily Johnson, and Maryann Elder
Karen Byers and Brenda Blalock
Carolyn Chandler, Sylvia Easton, and Missy DeYoung
Donated gifts for CALM
Guests enjoy the program.
Past president Janet McCann, President Mindy Denson, and VP Maribel Jarchow


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.