<em>King Lear</em>

arts & lectures

King Lear

Winter Arts Preview: Theater

2011 Brings New Stagings, Old Favorites, Live Broadcasts

On Saturday, January 15, at 7 p.m. and Sunday, January 16, Center Stage Theater will host a production of Jane: Abortion and the Underground, a play by Paula Kamen that tells the story of an early network of pro-choice women in Chicago. The following weekend, it’s back to Center Stage for Days of Wine and Roses, which will run from Thursday, January 20-Sunday, January 30. The Granada hosts the national touring company of A Chorus Line Tuesday -Wednesday, January 25-26.

Ensemble Theatre Company presents Opus, Michael Hollinger’s backstage drama about a string quartet, from Thursday, February 3, through Sunday, February 27, at the Alhecama Theatre. Rubicon Theatre Company in Ventura begins 2011 with Athol Fugard’s brilliant drama “Master Harold” …and the Boys, directed by Brian McDonald. It runs Wednesday, February 9-Sunday, March 6. Dijo Productions will stage Talley’s Folly at Center Stage Theater beginning on Monday, February 7, and continuing through Saturday, February 12.

The winter season for UCSB theater begins on Friday, February 11, with Biederman’s March, a new musical based on the work of Swiss writer Max Frisch and directed by Risa Brainin. There will be nine performances, including a preview February 10, opening night on February 11, and from February 15-20, in UCSB’s Performing Arts Theatre. The Nation Theater Live series continues at Hahn Hall on Friday, February 11, with King Lear, featuring Derek Jacobi. UCSB’s Campbell Hall hosts an encore presentation on Wednesday, March 2.

S.B.’s long running theater series Speaking of Stories will return to Center Stage Theater at 2 p.m. on Sunday, February 13, and 7:30 p.m. on Monday, February 14. And The Second City comedy troupe will bring Fair & Unbalanced to Campbell Hall on Thursday, February 24, courtesy of UCSB’s Arts & Lectures.

UCSB’s Simon Williams opens Oliver Goldsmith’s classic She Stoops to Conquer on Friday, February 25, with additional performances March 3-5 and matinees on Saturday, February 26, and Saturday, March 5, at UCSB’s Hatlen Theatre.

Santa Barbara City College presents Moliere’s Tartuffe at SBCC’s Interim Theater from Wednesday, March 2-Saturday, March 19. Spamalot hits the Granada for two nights on Tuesday-Wednesday, March 8-9. Slumdog Millionaire director Danny Boyle’s Frankenstein rounds out the National Theatre Live series on Thursday, March 17, at Hahn Hall.

To submit a comment on this article, email or visit our Facebook page. To submit information to a reporter, email

Be succinct, constructive, and relevant to the story. Leaving a comment means you agree to our Discussion Guidelines. We like civilized discourse. We don't like spam, lying, profanity, harassment or personal attacks.

comments powered by Disqus
event calendar sponsored by:

Iron Chef Caused State Street Pedestrian Death

Famous Chef Larry Forgione charged with misdemeanor for driving into Gilbert Ramirez on February 24.

Lavagnino’s Sudden Victory

5th District supervisor a shoo-in as filing window closes; Gregg Hart also unopposed for 2nd District.

One Half of Old Town Streets to Get Sidewalks

Walkways planned for one side of Goleta neighborhood streets; parking, lighting talks at community meeting March 22.

After Disaster in Montecito, Where Is All the Money Going?

Santa Barbara nonprofits account for millions spent on relief efforts.

Santa Barbara Experiences a Rainy March, but a Dry Year

Water year only 34 percent of normal for precipitation.