Hyung Pai, associate professor of East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies, and Xiaojian Zhao, professor of Asian American Studies at UC Santa Barbara, have received Fulbright Research Fellowships to spend all or part of the 2010-11 academic year in Korea and China, respectively.

Hyung Pai

Pai will conduct research at the University of Seoul’s Institute for Seoul Studies on a project titled “The Making and Marketing of Heritage Destinations in Korea: The Production of Tourist Images and the Commodification of Ethnicity.” Zhao will conduct research on gender and migration at the University of Shanghai in China.

Xiaojian Zhao

In addition, the Fulbright Scholar Program has awarded grants to nine researchers from Europe, South America, Asia, Canada, and the Caribbean to study at UC Santa Barbara during the current academic year. They include Amaro Gomes Barreto of Brazil; Orlean Janice Brown Earle of Jamaica; Augustin Fallas-Santana of Costa Rica; Oscar Godoy del Olmo of Spain; Peiquing Guo of China; Catherine Carstairs and Charmaine Nelson of Canada; Michael North of Germany; and Mario Stipcevic of Croatia.

Also at UCSB, two scholars from Spain and two from Korea will continue two-year fellowships that began during the 2009-10 academic year. They are Carlos Miguel Tamarit Degenhardt, Javier Vidal Hurtado, Kyu Hyun Kim, and Kyung Hee Suh.

Barreto, an adjunct professor at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, will be affiliated with the Department of Chemical Engineering. Carstairs, an associate professor at the University of Guelph, will be affiliated with the Department of History; Earle, an associate professor at Northern Caribbean University, will be affiliated with the Department of Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology. Fallas-Santana, a senior researcher at the University of Costa Rica, will be affiliated with the Department of Political Science. Godoy del Olmo, a postdoctoral research at Centro Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, will be affiliated with the Department of Evolution, Ecology and Marine Biology. Guo, associate professor at Ocean University of China, will be affiliated with the Bren School of Environmental Science & Management. Nelson, an associate professor at McGill University, will be affiliated with the Department of History of Art and Architecture. North, a professor at Ernst Moritz Arndt University of Greifswald, is affiliated with the Department of History. Stipcevic, a senior research associate at Ruder Boskovic Institute, will be associated with the Department of Physics.

In addition to conducting research at UCSB, Nelson will hold the Canada-U.S. Fulbright Visiting Research Chair, and North will hold the Fulbright Chair in German Studies.

Of the Fulbright Scholars continuing their studies at UCSB, Degenhardt, a researcher at Complutense University of Madrid, is affiliated with the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics; Hurtado, a researcher at the Water Institute at the University of Granada, is affiliated with the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology; and Kim and Suh, professors at Kyung Hee University and Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, respectively, are affiliated with the Department of Linguistics.

The Fulbright Scholar Program, sponsored by the U.S. State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is America’s flagship international educational exchange program. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has sponsored approximately 300,000 American and foreign scholars. Recipients are selected based on academic or professional achievement as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.