Press Release

Two Santa Barbara City College international students were named to the All-California Community College Third Academic Team for 2011. Sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the international honor society for two-year community colleges, along with community college presidents and community college state associations, the competition recognizes community college students who maintain a 3.5 out of 4.0 grade point average and are on track to receive an associate’s or bachelor’s degree. Pictured are: (l to r) Hannah Stromgren, a political science major who currently serves as SBCC PTK President; Dr. Andreea Serban, SBCC Superintendent/ President; Patience Ncube, an economics major and SBCC PTK Vice President; Dr. Alice Scharper, SBCC Dean of Educational Programs; and Dr. Manoutchehr Eskandari-Qajar, Professor of Political Science and PTK Faculty Advisor. Along with their fellow winners from throughout the state, Hannah and Patience were recognized at the Community College League of California’s Luncheon and Awards ceremony in Sacramento in March.


Please note this login is to submit events or press releases. Use this page here to login for your Independent subscription

Not a member? Sign up here.